Wednesday, May 11, 2016

REVIEW: "Six Degrees of Scandal" by Caroline Linden

Six Degrees of Scandal (Scandalous, #4)
(Scandalous #4)

Historical Romance -- Regency England

Avon -- March 29, 2016
Mass Market Paperback, 384 pages
Read in April 2016

Goodreads -- Author Website -- Publisher Website


Olivia Townsend is in trouble and out of options. Pursued by a desperate man in search of a lost treasure, which she doesn’t have, she’s got only two things in her favor: her late husband’s diary, which she was never meant to see … and the man who was her first-and-only-love. Losing him broke her heart, though she’s been careful to hide it for the last ten years. But when he comes to her aid and vows to stand by her this time, no matter what, she can’t help but hope things will be different this time.

James Weston has blamed himself for letting Olivia down when she needed him years ago, and he will not do it again. Fortunately, his unusual life has equipped him well to outsmart the villain chasing Olivia. Unfortunately, being so near her again threatens to expose every secret in his heart…even those that should stay hidden forever.

Beta Hero, Widow Heroine, Second Chance at Love

2016 Pick Your Genre Reading Challenge

Six Degrees of Scandal is the conclusion to Caroline Linden's Scandalous series and helps tie everything together.  This includes revealing the true identity of the steamy 50 Ways to Sin pamphlets authored by the mysterious Lady Constance.  I have had a good time with this entire series, but this book is definitely my favorite.

The romance plot focuses on James Weston and Olivia Townsend who were young lovers separated by miscommunication and bad decisions.  Their brief courtship ten years ago ended when Olivia was forced to marry another man to avoid scandal.  Now Olivia is a widow that is trying to escape the actions of a dangerous stalker.  James comes to her aid and together they try to figure out what secrets her late husband was hiding that would cause such attention all while trying not to act on their still emotional reactions to one another.

I love reunited lovers stories and I thought this one was handled well.  Readers have been seeing James and Olivia as secondary characters throughout the series.  Now they get to take center stage and it was well worth the wait.  James has grown up a lot since his early courtship of Olivia and is determined to prove to her that he can be trusted with her future.  For her part, Olivia wants to believe in James, but she is preoccupied by her current situation.

What I enjoyed most about these characters was their mature way of handling certain predicaments and their interactions.  Caroline Linden doesn't rely much on Big Misunderstandings in her novels which I appreciate.  Her characters are intelligent, likable, and easy to root for.  They do have flaws, but they are well-developed and consistent.

Besides the romance and the issue with Olivia's stalker, readers will also be happy to see that the true identity of Lady Constance is revealed.  This has been a fun way to tie the series together and I enjoyed seeing it come to its conclusion.  I actually was surprised by the truth and liked the way it was handled.

If you enjoy mature, likable characters who learn to fall in love in spite of some difficult situations, I highly recommend Six Degrees of Scandal and the rest of the Scandalous series.  This book can be read as a stand-alone, but I think readers will get the most out of the subplots if they are familiar with the characters and how they got to this particular moment.


Love and Other Scandals (Scandalous, #1) It Takes a Scandal (Scandalous, #2) All's Fair In Love and Scandal (Scandalous, #2.5) A Study in Scandal (Scandalous, #2.5) 
Love in the Time of Scandal (Scandalous, #3) Six Degrees of Scandal (Scandalous, #4)


  1. It sounds like I need to put this series on my TBR list!

  2. I really need to read Caroline Linden. You know, lately, I haven't really been all that into second chance love stories. I used to them love, but lately, they don't appeal to me at all. Would you say that this series should be read in order?

    1. I think you could skip book 1 though it was enjoyable. Book 3 is closely connected to this one so I would recommend at least reading that one first.


Yeah comments!! Thanks for visiting my blog. I will try to reply to your comments as soon as possible.