Announcement

Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews is currently on hiatus. I hope to return to blogging sooner rather than later.

I will still be posting mini book reviews on Goodreads and talking books on Twitter so feel free to find me there.

Thank you and happy reading1


Saturday, February 28, 2015

STACKING THE SHELVES (69)

STSmall_thumb[2][2]
A great feature hosted by Tynga's Reviews where bloggers get to feature the new books they received over the past week.

 
~BOUGHT~
Lucien's Fall
Lucien's Fall by Barbara Samuel (historical romance)

The Deal (Off-Campus, #1)
The Deal by Elle Kennedy (NA contemporary)

~BORROWED FROM THE LIBRARY~
Gunmetal Magic (Kate Daniels, #5.5)
Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews (urban fantasy)

~RECEIVED FOR REVIEW~
The Courtesan Duchess (Wicked Deceptions, #1)
The Courtesan Duchess by Joanna Shupe (historical romance)

The Unleashing (Call of Crows, #1)
The Unleashing by Shelly Laurenston (paranormal romance)

***********
WEEKLY RECAP

I READ... 
Creation in Death by JD Robb
Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews


Friday, February 27, 2015

AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: "Creation in Death" by JD Robb

Creation in Death (In Death, #25)
Creation in Death by JD Robb; Narrated by Susan Ericksen
For Ages 18+ (Language, Sensuality, Violence)
Romantic Suspense

Berkley -- Published in 2008
Audiobook, 12 hours and 19 minutes
Read in February 2015
Purchased from Audible

THEMES
Murder Mystery, Kick Ass Heroine, Secondary Romance

SUMMARY
Eve has seen this crime scene before: the artfully arranged body of a young brunette, arms spread, palms up, body marked by the signs of prolonged and painful torture. Carved into her torso is the time it took her to die - in hours, minutes, and seconds. And on the third finger of her left hand has been placed a silver ring.

Eve is catapulted back to a case nine years earlier, when a man whom the media tagged "“The Groom"” put the city on edge with a killing spree that took the lives of four women in fifteen days. Eve and her partner Feeney, her friend and mentor, couldn't stop him before he disappeared, only to resurface in other parts of the world to kill and kill again. But now The Groom seems to have come back to where he started.

When it turns out that The Groom's most recent victim was employed by Eve's billionaire husband, Roarke, she brings him onto the case. A move that proves fitting when it becomes chillingly clear that the killer has made it personal. The corpse was washed in products from a store Roarke owns and laid out on a sheet his company manufactures. With the Groom's monstrous return, Eve is determined to finish him once and for all. Familiar with his methods, she knows that he has already grabbed his next victim.

But his sights are set on the biggest challenge of his illustrious career - an abduction that will test his skills and that promises to give him satisfaction as he's never known. Time is running out on another woman's life…and for Eve.


FIRST LINE
"Every once in a while, Eve though, life was really worth living."

MY THOUGHTS
I read a ton of books in this series last year, but took a small break recently so I didn't get overloaded.  Now I'm back at it and Creation in Death provided me with everything I expect from Eve, Roarke, and the gang.  The mystery was fascinating, the characters entertaining, and, as always, the audio narration from Susan Ericksen is impeccable.

This particular case was a difficult one to read due to its violent nature.  Basically, a serial killer that Eve and Feeney had hunted for nine years earlier has reappeared in New York and is terrorizing the city once again.  Now Eve is put in charge of the investigation and she assembles a task force to stop "The Groom" once and for all.  This plot really reminded me of something that could be on a Criminal Minds or Law & Order episode.  The villain is terrifying in both his predictability and the difficulties that the authorities have in getting a read on him.  It was great to see the task force work especially on something of this magnitude.

As always, the characters are what really shine in this book.  Eve is as kick-ass as ever and shows off her detective skills and her ability to handle the lead on such a high-profile case.  Her relationship with Feeney is looked at deeply here due to the fact that Feeney was the lead on the earlier Groom case and emotions run pretty high between them.  I think their pseudo-father/daughter dynamic is wonderful to read and this book brings that back to the forefront of the readers' minds.  It was also fun to see hairstylist/make-up artist/bane of Eve's existence, Trina, get to take a big role in the case.  And, of course, it is always a blast with the regular cast like Roarke, Peabody, McNab, Mavis,  Baxter, and Trueheart.

Creation in Death is both fascinating and bone-chilling so it is a worthy installment in the series.  The narrator continues to be fabulous and the characters are like family to me now.  I'm ready to dive back into this series and possibly catch up in the next year or so!


4 STARS



FAVORITE QUOTES
"You never were a rookie," he told her in a voice roughened with emotion. "So I saw good, solid cop the minute I laid eyes on you. I gave you a hell of a foundation, kid, a lot of seasoning and pushed you hard because I knew you could take it. You put yourself here. And I'm proud."

BOOKS IN THE SERIES
There are too many to show here, but I'm providing a link to the Goodreads listing and the listing from JD Robb's website.

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

REVIEW: "Magic Bleeds" by Ilona Andrews

Magic Bleeds (Kate Daniels, #4)
Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews
For Ages 18+ (Language, Violence, Sensuality)
Urban Fantasy

Ace -- Published in 2010
Ebook, 388 pages
Read in February 2015
Borrowed from library

THEMES
Kick-Ass Heroine, Alternate Universe, Mythology

SUMMARY
Atlanta would be a nice place to live, if it weren't for the magic. When the magic is up, rogue mages cast their spells and monsters appear, while guns refuse to fire and cars fail to start. But then technology returns, and the magic recedes as unpredictably as it arose.

Kate Daniels works for the Order of Knights of Merciful Aid, officially as a liaison with the mercenary guild. Unofficially, she cleans up the paranormal problems no one else wants to handle - especially if they involve Atlanta's shapeshifting community. When she's called in to investigate a fight at the Steel Horse, a bar on the border between the territories of the shapeshifters and the necromancers, Kate quickly discovers that there's a new player in town. One who's been around for thousands of years - and who rode to war at the side of Kate's father. This foe may be too much even for Kate and Curran, the Beast Lord, to handle. Because this time Kate will be taking on family.


FIRST LINE
"No matter how carefully I patted the chopped apples into place, the top crust of my apple pie always looked like I'd tried to bury a dismembered body under it."

MY THOUGHTS
The last time that readers saw mercenary and part-time worker for the Knights of Merciful Aid, Kate Daniels, she was preparing a fancy dinner for the irritatingly sexy Beast Lord, Curran.  Unfortunately, for her, life never end up the way she expected and she is left sitting in her house alone for hours without a word from her date.  This situation eventually causes her to shut down any other attempts at a relationship with Curran.  Things get even more complicated when she is assigned to investigate a bar fight gone wrong that gives off serious supernatural vibes.

I absolutely loved this book!  Magic Bleeds is my favorite of the series so far and that is due to the continued development of Kate, the complex "relationship" between Curran and Kate, and the Big Bad that comes to visit Atlanta.  The supernatural world of this series is elaborate, violent, and always providing readers with something new and dangerous.  I especially enjoyed the way that the villain reveals some pretty big information regarding Kate's past.

As always, the glue that holds this book together is the character of Kate.  She is still strong, impulsive, and independent to a fault, but Magic Bleeds shows a more vulnerable side to her.  Her disastrous non-date with Curran forces her to shut down any warmth she had with him and she becomes determined not to let anyone else into her heart.  I loved this element of her character development since it gave readers more ways to relate to her despite our own lack of supernatural powers and a kick-ass sword like Slayer.

Kate is amazing, but this series also wouldn't be as captivating if it wasn't for the supporting cast.  Curran, of course, continues making a significant impact on both the storyline and Kate's daily life.  I just love everything about that slightly insane, but kind-hearted werelion!  I also enjoy getting to see the rest of Kate's little "family" she has created since the first book especially Andrea, Derek, Julie, and, in a weird way, Saiman.  It is easy to see that Kate has spent much of her life trying to avoid connections, but her generous nature has finally gotten the best of her.

I wish I could say more about this amazing book, but I'm afraid that I will spoil something for a future reader.  I will just end the review by recommending this series once again.  I was hesitant at first, but this has turned into quite a ride.  On to the next installment!!


5 STARS


FAVORITE QUOTE
I surveyed the rest of the Council and looked directly at Mahon, "Some of you know me.  Some of you have seen me fight and some of you are my friends.  Have your vote.  But know this: if you come to remove me, come in force, because if you try to separate me from him, I will kill every single one of you.  My hand won't shake.  My aim won't falter.  My face will be the last thing you'll see before you die."  I jammed the knife into the table and walked out.


BOOKS IN THE SERIES
0.5. A Questionable Client
1. Magic Bites
2. Magic Burns
3. Magic Strikes
3.5. Magic Mourns
4. Magic Bleeds
4.5. Magic Dreams
5. Magic Slays
5.5. Gunmetal Magic
6. Magic Rises
6.5. Magic Steals
7. Magic Breaks
8. Magic Shifts (Coming 2015)

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

TOP TEN TUESDAY: Favorite Heroines from Books


Hosted by the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Betrayal in Death (In Death, #12)
1. Eve Dallas -- In Death series by JD Robb
“I want a riot laser," Eve snapped at Peabody. "Full body armor." She yanked a six-inch combat knife from its leather sheath and watched with glee, as its wicked serrated edge caught the sunlight through her little window.
Peabody's eyes popped. "Sir?"
"I'm going down to maintenance, and I'm going locked and loaded. I'm taking those piss-brain sons of bitches out, one by one. Then I'm going to haul what's left of the bodies into my vehicle and set it on fire."
"Jesus, Dallas, I thought we had a red flag."
"I've got a red flag. I've got one." Her eyes wheeled to Peabody. "I've got under fifty miles on my ride since those lying, cheating, sniveling shitheads said it was road ready. Road ready? Do you want me to tell you about road ready?"
"I would like that very much, Lieutenant. If you'd sheathe that knife first.”

Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs (Jane Jameson, #1)
2. Jane Jameson -- Jane Jameson series by Molly Harper
“If you want to hurt me fine. Take my books. Burn down my house. Shave my head while I'm sleeping. But nobody nobody screws with my dog.”
Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)
3. Katniss Everdeen -- The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins
“They'll be granted immunity!" I feel myself rising from my chair, my voice full of resonant. "You will personally pledge this in front of the entire population of District Thirteen and the remainder of Twelve. Soon. Today. It will be recorded for future generations. You will hold yourself and your government responsible for their safety, or you'll find yourself another Mockingjay!”

Outlander (Outlander, #1)
4. Claire Randall -- Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon
“Everyone can lie, young Roger, given cause enough. Even me. It's only that it's harder for those of us who live in glass faces; we have to think up our lies ahead of time.” 
The Viscount Who Loved Me (Bridgertons, #2)
5. Kate Sheffield -- The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn
Before she knew what she was about, she was jumping about like a crazy woman, yelling, “Yes! Yes! I win!”
You don’t win,” Anthony snapped.
Oh, it feels like I’ve won,” she reveled.

Bloodlines (Bloodlines, #1)
6. Sydney Sage -- Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead
I’d been raised to be practical and keep my emotions in check, but I loved cars. That was one of the few legacies I’d picked up from my mom. She was a mechanic, and some of my best childhood memories were of working in the garage with her.
The Traitor in the Tunnel (The Agency, #3)
7. Mary Quinn -- The Agency series by Y.S. Lee
He looked at her for a moment, amazed. "How did you know that? How can a servant girl like you understand so much?"
Because self-absorbed man-children are common as weeds, thought Mary. But she said, "I don't know, sir. I only guessed.”

Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, #1)
8. Cat Crawfield -- Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost
“I'm saying that I'm a moody, insecure, narrow-minded, jealous, borderline homicidal bitch, and I want you to promise me that you're okay with that, because it's who I am, and you're what I need.”
The Countess Conspiracy (Brothers Sinister, #3)
9. Violet Waterfield -- The Countess Conspiracy by Courtney Milan
"I keep everything hidden because there's nothing about my true self that anyone likes. I'm not difficult, Sebastian. I'm the easiest person around. I don't belong, and I spend all my time pretending I do. Sometimes I get weary of it, and that makes me angry. It's not fair to the people around me when I lose my temper. I say awful things when I'm angry. But it's not fair to me, either, that I was made this way."
Magic Strikes (Kate Daniels, #3)
10. Kate Daniels -- Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews
“I gave him a smile. I was aiming for sweet, but he turned a shade paler and scooted a bit farther from me. Note to self: work more on sweet and less on psycho-killer.”

Sunday, February 22, 2015

I MUSTACHE YOU SOME QUESTIONS BOOK TAG

i mustache you some questions

Quinn over at Quinn's Book Nook tagged me in this meme so here it goes!

Four Names People Call Me Other Than My Real Name
My name is Jennifer and I've had quite a few nicknames over the years.
1. Jen -- What most of my family and friends call me...mostly because Jennifer is a lot to say.
2. Fern -- A high school nickname whose origin I don't really remember.
3. Nenfer -- One of my dance students started calling me this years ago and it stuck with her.
4. Fer-Fer -- My little brother couldn't say my real name so this was what he came up with.

Four Jobs I’ve Had
1. Ice Cream Scooper -- I spent a few summers working in an ice cream parlor at a nursing home. 
2. Warehouse Assistant -- My parents own a floral supply company so I was free labor in the warehouse.
3. Dance Instructor -- A current job that allows me to be creative and hang out with some awesome kids.
4. Archives Reference Assistant -- My other current job which is never dull!

Four Movies I’ve Watched More Than Once
1. Harry Potter series -- I love Harry Potter Weekend on ABC Family.
2. Cinderella -- My favorite Disney movie.
3. Miss Congeniality -- Sandra Bullock is one of my all-time favorite actresses.
4. A League of Their Own -- Such a classic.

Four Books I’d Recommend1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
2. Harry Potter series by JK Rowling
3. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
4. Naked in Death by JD Robb

Four Places I Have Lived
1. Louisville, Kentucky -- Only place I've ever lived.

Four Places I Have Been
1. Las Vegas
2. New York City
3. U.S. Virgin Islands
4. Washington, D.C.

Four Places I’d Rather Be Right Now1. Hawaii -- Warm and beautiful.
2. Florida -- At least warmer than it is here in Kentucky.
3. San Diego -- I've been to California, but never made it to this city.
4. Europe -- Part of my bucket list.

Four Things I Don’t Eat
1. Seafood
2. Pie
3. Lettuce
4. Spicy Foods

Four of My Favorite Foods1. Pizza
2. Bacon
3. Cheese
4. Ice Cream

Four TV Shows That I Watch
1. The Big Bang Theory -- It just reminds me of my high school friends.
2. Downton Abbey -- Not as good as when it began, but I'm in it until the end.
3. Broadchurch -- Just started this and am obsessed!  Can't wait to see Season 2 in a few weeks!
4. Empire -- Another new show that I am addicted to.  I love the music and the family drama.

Four Things I Am Looking Forward To This Year
1. Seeing some fun new movies: Cinderella, Mockingjay Part 2, The Avengers
2. Going to Florida for a week
3. Going to an away football game
4. Possibly getting a dog in the near future :)

Four Things I’m Always Saying
1. Whatever -- I hate that I say it, but I can't help it.
2. Sweetie Pie -- What I call most of dance kids if they aren't listening to me.
3. 5-6-7-8 -- Counting down the beat for my dance students.
4. How can I help you -- What I'm always saying at work.

Four People I Tag
1. Renee at Addicted to Romance
3. Camille at Girl Meets Books

Saturday, February 21, 2015

UPCOMING RELEASES: March 2015

A list of new releases that grabbed my attention for next month.  These are organized by expected publication date.  As always, release dates are subject to change.

March 2nd
    The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy, #2)
  • The Captain's Bluestocking Mistress (Dukes of War #2) by Erica Ridley (historical romance)
March 3rd
  • The Winner's Crime (Winners Trilogy #2) by Marie Rutkoski (YA fantasy)
  • Of Silk and Steam (London Steampunk #5) by Bec McMaster (steampunk romance)
  • Nothing Like Paris (Bend or Break #2) by Amy Jo Cousins (male/male contemporary)
  • Vision in Silver (The Others #3) by Anne Bishop (urban fantasy)
  • The Bedding Proposal (Rakes of Cavendish Square #1) by Tracy Anne Warren (historical romance)
  • The Storyspinner (The Keepers' Chronicles #1) by Becky Wallace (YA fantasy)
  • The Trouble with Love (Sex, Love, and Stilettos #4) by Lauren Layne (contemporary romance)
March 9th
  • The Fighter and the Fallen Woman by Pamela Cayne (historical romance)
March 10th
  • Rivals in the City (The Agency #4) by Y.S. Lee (YA historical)
  • Rock Hard (Rock Kiss #2) by Nalini Singh (contemporary romance)
  • The Orphan Queen (The Orphan Queen #1) by Jodi Meadows (YA fantasy)
March 16th
  • Getting it Right (Restoration #1) by A.M. Arthur (male/male contemporary)
Rivals in the City (The Agency, #4)
March 17th
  • Prudence (The Custard Protocol #1) by Gail Carriger (steampunk romance)
March 24th
  • The Dangers of Dating a Rebound Vampire (Half-Moon Hollow #3) by Molly Harper (paranormal romance)
  • Falling (Falling #1) by Barbara Elsborg (male/male contemporary)
March 30th
  • Four Nights with the Duke (Desperate Duchesses #8) by Eloisa James (historical romance)
  • The Courtesan Duchess (Wicked Deceptions #1) by Joanna Shupe (historical romance)
  • The Shadows (Black Dagger Brotherhood #13) by JR Ward (paranormal romance)
  • The Unleashing (Call of Crows #1) by Shelly Laurenston (paranormal romance)
  • A Good Rake is Hard to Find (Lords of Anarchy #1) by Manda Collins (historical romance)
  • The Crown of Ptolemy (Percy Jackson and Kane Chronicles Crossover #3) by Rick Riordan (MG fantasy)

Friday, February 20, 2015

REVIEW: "Fairest" by Marissa Meyer


Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles, #0.1)

Fairest by Marissa Meyer
(Lunar Chronicles #3.5)

Goodreads -- Amazon -- Book Depository
Author Website

For Ages 14+ (Language, Violence)
Young Adult -- Science Fiction

Feiwel and Friends -- Published on January 27, 2015
Hardcover, 222 pages
Read in February 2015
Purchased from Amazon

THEMES
Villain's Point of View, Aliens, Unique Setting

SUMMARY
In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told.

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death.



FIRST LINE
"She was lying on a burning pyre, hot coals beneath her back."

MY THOUGHTS
Well, this wasn't what I was expecting and that is a good thing.  I love the Lunar Chronicles series which mixes fairy tales with complex science fiction.  I feel like we've been waiting for the conclusion (Winter) forever so I wasn't super pumped when I found out that there would be a story showing Queen Levana's past first.  But, I should not have doubted Marissa Meyer.  I found Fairest to be a fascinating look at a truly terrifying character.

This book is all about Levana and how she develops into the ambitious leader of the Lunar kingdom.  It stars with her being fifteen years old and dealing with the sudden death of her parents.  Then it slowly reveals the origin of her ruthless leadership policy and her ultimate plan for the Earth.  What I loved the most about this was how Meyer was able to make me empathize with Levana while still be scared of what she was becoming.  There is very little decency in her character and I appreciated that she wasn't watered down like she could have been.

While this is technically a prequel to the other Lunar Chronicle books, I think it works better being read between Cress and Winter since certain plot points like the Queen's army and what happened to Princess Selene.  I do think this is an important aspect of the series by setting up the Lunar Kingdom beyond just what other characters have speculated about and how Levana was able to come to power.

Now I am super excited about the release of Winter especially after the little tidbits we got about Levana's stepdaughter and her loyal friend, Jacin.  I definitely recommend this book for fans of the series and think they will be surprised by how much they enjoy it...like I was.

4 STARS


STEAM LEVEL
Blush -- Kisses with no/minor touching.

FAVORITE QUOTE
“Levana had not seen the bodies, but she had seen the bedrooms the next morning, and her first thought was that all that blood would make for a very pretty rouge on her lips.”


BOOKS IN THE SERIES
1. Cinder
2. Scarlet
3. Cress
3.5. Fairest
4. Winter (Coming Late 2015)

Thursday, February 19, 2015

THROWBACK THURSDAY-HISTORICAL ROMANCE EDITION (64)

Happy Thursday, everyone! This is a new feature hosted by Buried Under Romance and Love Saves the World.

What is Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition?
Traditionally, Throwback Thursday celebrates nostalgia, asking participants to post a personal photo or an image from their past -- usually from 5 to 10 years ago. There are a lot of book blogs that also do a book-related Throwback Thursday.  Since Tin and Mary C. are unapologetic lovers of historical romances, they've decided to focus on this beloved genre.

Here are the rules:
1. It must be posted on a Thursday.
2. It must be a historical romance novel published before October 2008.

THIS WEEK I AM FEATURING...

For My Lady's Heart (Medieval Hearts, #1)
For My Lady's Heart by Laura Kinsale
Originally Published in 2005

In medieval Europe, vows and laws are as inflexible and confining as a suit of armor. For Ruck, a noble and honest knight, those rules provide an unwavering path. Even as his wife leaves him for the Church, taking his money and his steed, Ruck’s life is one of devotion and mission.

For the beautiful widow, Princess Melanthe, those same laws and traditions conspire to consume her land and her independence. Her husband’s death has left her kingdom an inviting target for neighboring territories. Where Ruck sees a clear path, Melanthe must navigate through twisting alleyways, using shrewd deceit and devious strategy.

Can these two help each other overcome the powers conspiring against them? Will the passion in their hearts escape the constraints of their station? Is devotion enough?

***********

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

2015 TBR CHALLENGE REVIEW: "Revealed" by Kate Noble


Revealed (The Blue Raven, #1)

Revealed by Kate Noble
For Ages 18+ (Language, Sensuality, Violence)
Historical Romance -- Regency England

Berkley -- Published in 2009
Paperback, 400 pages
Read in February 2015
Received from Paperback Swap

THEMES
Alpha Heroine, Beta Hero, Spies

SUMMARY
Phillippa Benning is the unrivaled beauty of the Season. But when another lady challenges her for a marquis's attentions, Phillippa entices him to a secret rendezvous-only to stumble upon The Blue Raven, England's most famous spy, lurking at the site of her planned tryst.

The Blue Raven has uncovered an enemy plot directed at upcoming society functions, but he's unable to infiltrate London society. Phillippa makes an offer: in exchange for entrée among the ton, he agrees to have his true identity revealed at the Benning Ball-guaranteeing her unrivaled notoriety. As the danger draws closer, the mysterious spy and Phillippa give in to mutual desire. But when the game turns deadly, betrayal waits around the corner, and Phillippa must decide once and for all-is it the myth that captured her heart, or the man?



FIRST LINE
"Everyone agreed that Mrs. Phillippa Benning was a beautiful young woman."

MY THOUGHTS
Read for the 2015 TBR Challenge--February--Recommended To You.  The challenge is hosted by Wendy the Super Librarian

Why I Chose It For My TBR Challenge Read: Revealed is a book that was recommended to me early in the my blogging days though I do not remember who mentioned it to me.  I got it back in 2012 and then it just sat on my shelf ever since.  I think the main reason that I was so hesitant was that it involved Regency-era spies which is not my favorite theme.  But, I am glad that I finally gave it a chance and am looking forward to reading more in this series.

The main thing that stood out to me in this book was the reversal of the usual dynamic found in historical romance with an alpha heroine and a beta hero.  At first, I was not a huge fan of Phillippa.  She is beautiful, charming, and completely obsessed with her status in English society.  Basically, she seems to be the Regency-era version of one of the Plastics from Mean Girls.  Then she accidentally meets up with Mr. Marcus Worth, an ordinary-looking man, and her entire outlook changes.  But, just because I say he is a beta hero does not mean that he is weak.  His work for the war effort is legendary and I really liked his character.

My favorite scenes involved Marcus and Phillippa interacting in order to figure out who is threatening major events in the Season.  These two are an example of characters that are enhanced by their growing relationship with one another.  Marcus becomes more confident at societal events and Phillippa begins to revisit some personality traits from before her marriage.  They just work so well as a couple that I was always disappointed when they were apart.

The big mystery of Revealed involves a French spy who was thought to have been killed by the mysterious Blue Raven yet seems to have resurrected and is threatening to destroy the English from inside London.  As I mentioned, I have gotten bored with the spy theme, but I actually liked the balance of this subplot and the romance.  Things are not completely resolved by the end and it makes me want to read the rest of the series sooner rather than later.

All in all, I am glad that finally gave this book a chance.  So I am now 2 for 2 on pulling books that have been on my TBR shelf for years and that makes me even more excited to find more gems with the 2015 TBR Challenge.

4 STARS


STEAM LEVEL
Flush -- Detailed descriptions of lovemaking though nothing overly graphic.

FAVORITE QUOTE
"It's just me."

BOOKS IN THE SERIES
1. Revealed
2. The Summer of You
3. Follow My Lead
4. If I Fall
4.5. The Dress of the Season
5. Let It Be Me

Tuesday, February 17, 2015

TOP TEN TUESDAY: Book-Related Problems I Have


Hosted by the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish.



1. Overflowing TBR Shelf



2. Series Obsession



3. Returning Library Books Late



4. Being Late For Work Because I Was Reading



5. Not Knowing How Some Words Are Pronounced Since I've Only Seen Them In Print
Image result for mispronunciation gif



6. Trying To Figure Out What To Read Next