Thursday, May 30, 2013

REVIEW: "Sweet Peril" by Wendy Higgins


Sweet Peril (The Sweet Trilogy, #2)
Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins
For Ages 15+
Young Adult -- Paranormal
HarperTeen -- April 30, 2013
Paperback, 371 pages
Purchased from Amazon


THEMES
Tortured Hero, Family Issues, Love Triangle

SUMMARY
Anna Whitt, the daughter of a guardian angel and a demon, promised herself she’d never do the work of her father—polluting souls. She’d been naive to make such a vow. She’d been naive about a lot of things. 

Haunted by demon whisperers, Anna does whatever she can to survive, even if it means embracing her dark side and earning an unwanted reputation as her school’s party girl. Her life has never looked more bleak. And all the while there’s Kaidan Rowe, son of the Duke of Lust, plaguing her heart and mind.

When an unexpected lost message from the angels surfaces, Anna finds herself traveling the globe with Kopano, son of Wrath, in an attempt to gain support of fellow Nephilim and give them hope for the first time. It soon becomes clear that whatever freedoms Anna and the rest of the Neph are hoping to win will not be gained without a fight. Until then, Anna and Kaidan must put aside the issues between them, overcome the steamiest of temptations yet, and face the ultimate question: is loving someone worth risking their life?


FIRST LINE
Unbeknownst to the Roman community, 666 earthbound demons were making use of the infamous Coliseum.

MY THOUGHTS

Warning!  This review will contain spoilers from the previous book in the Sweet Trilogy.

Wendy Higgins's debut, Sweet Evil, was one of my favorite reads of 2012.  I loved her unique take on angels and the way that she developed her characters especially Kaidan and Anna.  So I was eagerly anticipating the sequel and am glad to report that, while it was not as mind blowing as the prequel, it was still an enjoyable sequel that really helps move the series story line forward.

Sweet Peril takes place a couple months after the end of the last book and shows Anna trying to deal with the fact that she is now being watched by demon whisperers who are reporting her every move to the rest of the fallen angels (Dukes).  As a child of the Duke of Substance Abuse, Anna is expected to inspire others to become addicted to alcohol and drugs or risk being killed for disobedience.  But, as readers of the first book know, this duty is difficult for Anna who is one of the most genuinely nice YA heroines I've read about in years.

I really enjoyed the way that Wendy Higgins has developed Anna's personality.  She is a very sweet person who is easy to root for especially since she is basically being forced to be a bad influence in order to stay alive.  The events of Sweet Evil and this book have made Anna less naive than she was at the beginning of the series, but she still maintains that innocence that makes her so unique.  I admire that she is willing to do almost anything in order to survive yet tries to keep her morals in tact.  And Anna will need every bit of her innocence and kindness if she's going to deal with some of the revelations from this book regarding her future role as a Neph.

And, of course, I can't not mention one of my favorite book boyfriends from 2012, Kaidan Rowe, son of the Duke of Lust.  Kai is still as sexy and intriguing as he was in Sweet Evil, but readers (and Anna) get to see more of his personality especially in the later half of the book.  I liked seeing the balance of snark and sweetness that Kai shows Anna and wish that there would have been more scenes with him.  Kai and Anna's relationship is written so well that their scenes just make me turn the pages faster and faster.  I have been impressed with the way that Higgins writes their tension.  It is pretty hot for a YA, but I never felt like it crossed a line within the genre.

Sweet Peril also allows readers to get to see more of the great side characters of the series.  I particularly enjoyed the development of Kopano who is much more complicated than I ever gave him credit for.  I applaud the author for not taking Anna and Kope's relationship too far into love triangle territory since I'm not a huge fan of that particularly plot line.  Readers also get to see more of the twins, Anna's father, and Patti which I enjoyed.

All in all, I thought this book was an entertaining and important middle book in the Sweet trilogy.  It further develops the main players' personalities and helps set things up for what I'm thinking will be a pretty big finale.  The future of the Dukes and the Nephs is pretty unclear at the moment and I can't wait to see where Wendy Higgins takes the series next.

***4 STARS***

FAVORITE QUOTE
I was more myself with you during those three days than I’ve ever been with anyone in my life. It’d be easier if I could be fake with you, but you bring out everything in me, little Ann. All of it.


BOOKS IN THE SERIES
1. Sweet Evil
2. Sweet Peril
3. Sweet Reckoning (Coming 2014)

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

WWW WEDNESDAYS (4) and WAITING ON WEDNESDAY (60)


Hosted by Should Be Reading.

To participate in this feature, you just have answer these three simple questions:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you'll read next?

CURRENTLY READING...

Sweet Revenge (Nemesis Unlimited, #1)
Historical romance that is very reminiscent of the TV show, Leverage, with a group of men and women who try to gain justice for those who can't get it themselves.


Spider's Bite (Elemental Assassin, #1)
Urban fantasy about an assassin who has control over the stone and ice elements.  I just started this audiobook last night, but am really intrigued by Gin's character already.

All Night with a Rogue (Lords of Vice, #1)
Historical with an anti-hero and a musician heroine.  I've heard good things about this author and series so I'm excited to try it out.

RECENTLY FINISHED READING...

Sweet Peril (The Sweet Trilogy, #2)
Really good sequel to Sweet Evil.  We get to know more about the role of Nephs and how Anna fits into that world.  Not enough Kaidan for me, but still enjoyable.


Eon (Eon, #1)
Fun and creative fantasy heavily inspired by Asian culture.  The world building and side characters really stood out to me with this one.

WHAT I'M READING NEXT...

Any Duchess Will Do (Spindle Cove, #4)
Impatiently waiting for my copy to come in the mail this week.  I'm sad this is the last Spindle Cove book, but I'm excited because this is one of my favorite series.

Seraphina (Seraphina, #1)
Another dragon story that has gotten some great reviews.  I got this from the library so I need to read it soon before its due.

The Ugly Duchess (Fairy Tales, #4)
I adore James's historical fairy tales and I've had this on my TBR shelf for awhile.  But, the release of her newest one, Once Upon a Tower, has me motivated to get caught up on the series.

****************************************************************************


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine to highlight upcoming releases we're anxiously awaiting.


What the Duke Desires  (The Duke's Men, #1)


WHAT THE DUKE DESIRES
(The Duke's Men #1)
by Sabrina Jeffries

Expected Publication: June 18, 2013
Historical Romance

Maximilian Cale, the Duke of Lyons, long ago buried his grief for his missing elder brother, Peter, who was presumed dead after being kidnapped. When a mysterious note arrives from Tristan Bonnaud asserting that the Duke's brother is alive, it leads Max straight to the winsome Lisette Bonnaud, illegitimate daughter of a viscount and Tristan's sister. Soon he and Lisette are traveling to Paris posing as husband and wife, in search of Tristan, who has disappeared. And the longer he spends with Lisette, the easier it is for Max to see that the line between dukedom and desire is easier to cross than he imagined.

WHY I'M WAITING: I love Sabrina Jeffries's historical romances so I'm excited to see her starting a new series.  I remember Max from her Hellions of Halstead Hall and School for Heiresses series and I love seeing old favorites get their own story.

  

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

REVIEW: "Lord of Wicked Intentions" by Lorraine Heath

Lord of Wicked Intentions (The Lost Lords of Pembrook, #3)
Lord of Wicked Intentions by Lorraine Heath
(Lost Lords of Pembrook #3)

Goodreads -- Amazon -- Book Depository

For Ages 18+
Historical Romance
Avon -- April 30, 2013
Mass Market Paperback, 384 pages
Purchased from Amazon

THEMES
Family Issues, Tortured Hero, Hero in Pursuit

SUMMARY
Lord Rafe Easton may be of noble blood, but survival taught him to rely only on himself and to love no one. Yet when he sets his eyes on Miss Evelyn Chambers, and earl's illegitimate daughter, he is determined to have her, if only as his mistress.

After her father's death, Evelyn Chambers never imagined she would be sold to the highest bidder, yet circumstances give her little choice except to accept the lord's indecent proposal. Rafe is wealthy, as well as ruthless. Yet his coldness belies deep passion and deeper secrets. If she must be his, Evelyn intends to lay bare everything the Lord of Pembrook is hiding. But dark discoveries threaten to destroy them both until unexpected love guides the last lost lord home.

FIRST LINE
Lord Rafe Easton waited, unmoving.

MY THOUGHTS
Lord of Wicked Intentions is the conclusion to Lorraine Heath's Lost Lords of Pembrook trilogy and is easily my favorite of the series.  It can be read as a stand-alone though I did read the books in order.  I loved almost everything about this book and believe it to be one of Heath's best romances in years.

Just as a quick introduction, the Lost Lords of Pembrook series deals with three brothers whose father was killed by their uncle and they were forced to run away in order to avoid a similar fate.  To insure their safety, the three boys (Sebastian, Tristan, and Rafe) went separate ways and reunited more than a decade later to regain control of their inheritance.

This book focuses on the youngest of the Easton lords, Rafe, who was left in a workhouse by his older brothers when he was just ten years old.  Throughout the trilogy, Rafe's life after that has been a mystery other than he managed to work his way to owning one of the London's most prominent gambling clubs.  The story begins with Rafe visiting an acquaintance who is auctioning off his half-sister as a mistress in order to pay off his gambling debts.  Rafe is instantly attracted to the woman and sets her up as a mistress.

I loved the way that Lorraine Heath depicted Rafe.  He was a child who felt like he was a burden on his older brothers and was abandoned because of that.  Rafe was forced to learn to rely solely on himself in order to avoid being hurt again and this is evident from the beginning.  His obsession with work keeps him from searching for affection (from his family and others), but he can't hide that ambition forever.  Despite his outwardly cold demeanor, Rafe has never gotten over his desire to be a part of a family and even collects globes as a way to be connected to his brothers while they were gone.

The heroine of this book, Evelyn, really surprised me with how much I liked her.  She is the beloved, but illegitimate daughter of an earl who sheltered her for most of her life and kept her out of society's eye.  After his death, her fate was placed in the hands of her half-brother who decides to sell her to highest bidder which ends up being Rafe.  Evelyn was innocent and pretty naive due to her upbringing, but I rarely found her annoying or clingy.  She is an intelligent woman who is willing to do whatever she needs to do in order to survive which I really admired.  She is also pretty sensitive to the feelings of others which helps her in her interactions with Rafe.

As a couple, Rafe and Evelyn were wonderful to read about.  There was a ton of sexual tension especially with their early roles as mistress and patron, but the relationship was not consummated until late.  I found this to be refreshing and allowed the two to really get to know one another on an emotional scale as well as a physical one despite Rafe's efforts.  I loved that Rafe was shown obsessing over Evelyn (not in a creepy way) from the beginning and how quickly he connected with her despite his better judgment.  Both of these characters desire someone to love and have love them in return and it was nice to see them gain that through their relationship with each other.

Besides the romance, there was also a subplot involving a mystery about the late owner of Rafe's club.  There are various attempts on both Rafe and Evelyn's life that they had to deal with, but I didn't think it distracted from the main story line.  I did figure out who was behind everything pretty early on though it didn't decrease my overall enjoyment.

In conclusion, Lord of Wicked Intentions was an entertaining and emotional read that most historical romance fans will love.  Rafe is a well-developed hero who had to go through a lot in order to get his happily ever after while Evelyn shows that a heroine can be sweet and innocent without seeming immature or TSTL.  I definitely look forward to seeing what Lorraine Heath has in store for her fans next!

***4.5 STARS***

BOOKS IN THE SERIES
1. She Tempts the Duke
2. Lord of Temptation
2.5. Deck the Halls with Love
3. Lord of Wicked Intentions

AUTHOR INFORMATION

TOP TEN TUESDAY: Freebie -- Novellas/Short Stories


Hosted by the ladies at The Broke and Bookish.

FREEBIE: TOP TEN NOVELLAS/SHORT STORIES

I love full-length books just as much as the next reader, but I am also a fan of stories that I can read in one sitting. I believe it takes real skill to write a short story/novella and these are some of the best, in my opinion.

The Governess Affair (Brothers Sinister, #0.5) The Ice Princess (Princes Trilogy, #4) Dead After Dark (Dark-Hunter Universe, #15.6; Companion, #6.5) Supernatural (Lords of Deliverance, #1.5; Demonica, #5.5; Guardians of Eternity, #7.5; Nightwalkers, #1.5; Dragon Kin, #4.5) Unlocked (Turner, #1.6)

1. The Governess Affair by Courtney Milan
This is the prequel to Milan's current series (The Brothers Sinister) and it is an amazing story! It deals with a disgraced governess and a former pugilist turned man of business. I loved the way the romance developed with both characters being a bit gun shy yet can't resist the chemistry. Plus it was nice reading about two characters who weren't part of the aristocracy. It can be purchased as a single story.

2. The Ice Princess by Elizabeth Hoyt
This is a novella that relates to Hoyt's Prince trilogy. It focuses on the madam of the infamous Aphrodite's Grotto brothel who first appeared in The Raven Prince and how she deals with a handsome captain who wins seven nights with her in a game of chance. The slow development of the love story is really well done here and Hoyt's signature spicy sex scenes are in full force.
It can be purchased as a single story.

3. The Story of Son by JR Ward
Novella that can be found in the Dead After Dark anthology. It is about a lawyer who is captured and kept in a mysterious house by a client. She then discovers that her client has been keeping her half-vampire son as a prisoner in the house and that she is meant to be his yearly meal. But, what happens is a connection between two people that really showcases JR Ward's romantic side.

4. Vampire Fight Club by Larissa Ione
Part of the Demonica/Lords of Deliverance universe and can be found in the Supernatural anthology.  It deals directly with Vladlena, a nurse at Underworld General Hospital, who goes undercover at a paranormal fight club to find out who killed her brother.  There she meets Nathan, a day-walking vampire, and tries to put a stop to the club once and for all.  This novella is really intricate and full of cameos from our favorite characters in this universe.  There are also some interesting tidbits that will be important in the series later on.

5. Unlocked by Courtney Milan
Another Milan novella, I know, but she is one of the best at this style in historical romance.  I really connected to this story about a nobleman who returns to England to make amends to a wallflower that he and his cousin tormented for years.  This story runs the gamut of emotions, but readers get to understand how both sides feel and the pay off is wonderful.  It is part of the Turner Family universe, but can be read, and purchased, as a stand-alone.

Tarnished Knight (London Steampunk, #1.5) The Undead in My Bed (Includes: Midnight Liaisons #1.5, Dark Ones #10.5, Half Moon Hollow #1.5) Three Weddings and a Kiss Destroy Me (Shatter Me #1.5) When Tony Met Adam (Troubleshooters, #12.5)

6. Tarnished Knight by Bec McMaster
Part of the London Steampunk series and can be purchased as a single story.  It takes place after the events of Kiss of Steel and focuses on two lonely, tortured souls: Esme and John.  John is a burly, partly metal man who survives a vampire attack, but not without repercussions.  Esme is a widowed housekeeper who has had feelings for John for years.  This story is dark and romantic with some amazing character development and lots of sexual tension.

7. Undead Sublet by Molly Harper
Part of the Half-Moon Hollow series and can be found in the Undead in My Bed anthology.  This hilarious paranormal romance deals with Tess, a prominent chef who has a mental breakdown and takes a leave of absence in Kentucky, and Sam, a newly turned vampire whose ex-wife rents out the house he is staying in to an unsuspecting Tess.  I had tons of fun with this book and really recommend it to fans of Harper's oddball sense of humor.

8. The Mad Earl's Bride by Loretta Chase
Can be found in the Three Weddings and a Kiss anthology, but will soon be available as a single story.  This historical romance features a woman whose life ambition is to be a doctor and a man who believes he has a brain disease that will cause him to go mad and then die like his mother.  The chemistry between these two is amazingly written and I loved the way that Chase handled the medical aspect.

9. Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi
This story takes place in between Shatter Me and Unravel Me.  The most intriguing thing about this novella is that it is completely in Warner's point of view.  I love when authors force readers to look at scenes from a different viewpoint especially when it is someone who is considered a villain.  It can be purchased as an individual story.

10. When Tony Met Adam by Suzanne Brockmann 
A Troubleshooters novella written in honor of the repeal of "Don't Ask, Don't Tell."  It focuses on Adam, Jules and Robin's ex lover, and the Navy SEAL that takes hold of his heart.  I was not Adam's biggest fan in the other Troubleshooter books, but it was nice to get to know him more and see him finally happy.  It can be purchased as an individual story.

Saturday, May 25, 2013

STACKING THE SHELVES: May 12-25


STSmall_thumb[2][2]
A great feature hosted by Tynga's Reviews where bloggers get to feature the new books they received over the past week.

~BOUGHT~
Secrets of a Proper Countess Like No Other Lover (Pennyroyal Green, #2) How the Marquess Was Won (Pennyroyal Green, #6)A Notorious Countess Confesses (Pennyroyal Green, #7)
Twice a Rake Lord of Devil Isle This Time Next Door The Buggy List
*Secrets of a Proper Countess by Lecia Cornwall -- Amazon deal that involves a masquerade and a spy hero.  I've never read this author, but I figured I would give her a try for $0.99.

*Like No Other Lover by Julie Anne Long -- Involves a glasses wearing hero who has been in love with the heroine for a long time. 

*How the Marquess was Won by Julie Anne Long -- Features a ruthless, cold-hearted hero who falls for a paid companion.

*A Notorious Countess Confesses by Julie Anne Long -- Romance between a courtesan turned widowed countess and a wicked vicar.

*Twice a Rake by Catherine Gayle -- Freebie romance that involves a hero who must marry within a year and a heroine who is about to cause a scandal with her missing journal.

*Lord of Devil Isle by Connie Mason and Mia Marlowe -- Freebie with mail order brides and pirates!

*This Time Next Door by Gretchen Galway -- Amusing sounding freebie with a plus-sized heroine and a geeky hero.

*The Buggy List by Courtney Rice Gager -- Freebie chick lit about a happily married couple who make a list of things they want to do before having a baby.


~BORROWED FROM THE LIBRARY~
Seraphina (Seraphina, #1) Mind Games (Mind Games, #1) How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True
*Seraphina by Rachel Hartman -- YA fantasy involving dragons and what happens to humanity when a treaty between the two races is threatened.  Has won many awards lately.

*Mind Games by Kiersten White -- YA thriller with two sisters who have supernatural abilities and are forced to use them for some pretty powerful people.

*How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True by Sarah Strohmeyer -- YA contemporary that sounds like a mix of Cinderella and The Devil Wears Prada...set in Disney World!

~RECEIVED FROM NETGALLEY~
Sweet Revenge (Nemesis Unlimited, #1) Fangirl Not Just a Governess
*Sweet Revenge by Zoe Archer -- Historical romance with an escaped convict and a heroine who is part of a mysterious organization.

*Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell -- I've heard good things about this author, but haven't read any of her work.  This one intrigues me with the fanfiction angle.

*Not Just a Governess by Carole Mortimer -- Just sounds like an intriguing historical novella plus I love anything to do with governesses in fiction.

Friday, May 24, 2013

FOLLOW FRIDAY (72)

Alison Can Read Feature & Follow
Feature & Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, Rachel of Parajunkee and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!


This Week's Feature Blogs:
Book Junkie Joint
Bookingly Yours 


Q: The #FF is 150 weeks old! And we want to hear from you! What would you change about the hop? What do you like about it? Or just suggest a question to be used for next week!

I adore doing this feature every week because I have found so many great blogs to follow and met so many new blogger friends.  Plus the questions are always fun!

I don't have too many suggestions.  The main thing I would like to change is the announcement of the question for the week.  I wonder if it would be possible to put down the next week's question at the end of the main post...at least when it is convenient.  I'm sure it is difficult to come up with a different idea each week, but, if possible, I would love to have more than a few hours to come up with a question.

I'm not very good at question suggestions, but I'll give it my best shot:

**If you could redo a book-to-movie adaptation and make it better, what you would choose?

**Have your reading habits changed since you became a blogger?  How about your book buying habits?

**How many books are on your TBR pile (books that you have bought, but haven't read yet)?

**What book has been on your TBR pile the longest?


*************************************
I have created different ways for you to follow my blog: Bloglovin', LinkyFollowers, , Twitter, Goodreads, or email.  Comment, follow me, and I'll return the favor!!

Thursday, May 23, 2013

REVIEW: "The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom" by Christopher Healy

The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom (The League of Princes, #1)
The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy; Illustrated by Todd Harris
(League of Princes #1)

Goodreads -- Amazon -- Book Depository

For Ages 8+
Middle Grade/Fantasy
Walden Pond Press --May 1, 2012
Hardcover, 419 pages
Borrowed from the Library

THEMES
Opposites Attract, Disguises, Hero in Pursuit, Held Captive

SUMMARY
Prince Liam.  Prince Frederic.  Prince Duncan.  Prince Gustav.  You’ve never heard of them, have you? These are the princes who saved Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, Snow White, and Rapunzel, respectively, and yet, thanks to those lousy bards who wrote the tales, you likely know them only as Prince Charming.  But all of this is about to change.

Rejected by their princesses and cast out of their castles, the princes stumble upon an evil plot that could endanger each of their kingdoms.  Now it’s up to them to triumph over their various shortcomings, take on trolls, bandits, dragons, witches, and other assorted terrors, and become the heroes no one ever thought they could be.

FIRST LINE
Prince Charming is afraid of old ladies.  Didn't know that, did you?

MY THOUGHTS
As can be expected by my blog title, I am a huge fan of fairy tales.  I love almost everything about them from the dragons to the swashbuckling adventures to the love stories.  But, I also understand the limitations of this genre and how underdeveloped the characters can be.  That is one of the main reasons why I love fairy tale retellings because it is a way for me to imagine the depths of my favorite stories beyond the classic tales.

The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom is a hilarious take on four of the most well-known fairy tales in our culture (Snow White, Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Sleeping Beauty) and shows what happens after the happily ever after.  Specifically, Christopher Healy focuses on the princes of those tales who have never been given a name beyond the generic Prince Charming.  Now, these gentlemen take center stage and show readers that heroes can come with all forms.

My favorite part of this book are the princes.  Each of them is well-developed and funny in their own way.  Readers get to know more about burly Gustav who resents Rapunzel for saving him from the witch, handsome Liam who isn't so sure he wants to marry Briar Rose after all, quirky Duncan who worships the ground Snow White walks on, and (my personal favorite) Frederic whose dainty ways force Ella to leave him.  Each prince has his own reasons to save their kingdoms and it was a treat to watch them interact with each other.

The princesses are also part of the story though they aren't given as much page time as the princes, understandably.  I really liked the way that Healy went beyond the typical princess stereotype with Ella, Rapunzel and Snow.  Briar Rose, at first, seemed to be a cliched spoiled brat, but she became so delightfully awful that I want to know more about her. 

The League of Princes has to deal with a multitude of issues on their quest to become heroes.  Like many fairy tales, they must fight giants, dragons, trolls, angry villagers, etc.  There also is the resident evil witch whose plot is both diabolical and comical.  I also adored any scene where the League encountered the mysterious Deeb the Bandit King.

All in all, I thought The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom was appropriately funny and touching for a fairy tale retelling.  There was a ton of a creativity on the part of the author and the illustrations peppered throughout the book just added to the fun.  I will admit that the plot did get a little long-winded in the last third of the book, but things wrapped up nicely by the end.  I had a great time reading this book and I am eagerly anticipating the chance to read its sequel, The Hero's Guide to Storming the Castle.

***4 STARS***

FAVORITE QUOTE
I'm Liam of Erinthia.  I'm here to rescue you ... and...you are not Cinderella.  You are a tree branch wrapped in a sheet.

BOOKS IN THE SERIES
1. The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom
2. The Hero's Guide to Storming the Castle

AUTHOR INFORMATION

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

WWW WEDNESDAYS (3) and WAITING ON WEDNESDAY (59)


Hosted by Should Be Reading.

To participate in this feature, you just have answer these three simple questions:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you'll read next?

CURRENTLY READING...
Sweet Revenge (Nemesis Unlimited, #1)  Eon (Eon, #1) Sweet Peril (The Sweet Trilogy, #2)
*Sweet Revenge by Zoe Archer (historical romance) -- Intriguing concept!

*Eon by Alison Goodman (YA fantasy) -- Really getting into the meat of the story and loving where the author is taking it!
*Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins (YA paranormal) -- Just started it this morning and am so excited!

RECENTLY FINISHED READING...
Seducing The Single Lady  A to Z (Coda Books, #2)  Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, Vol. 4 (Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon Renewal Editions, #4)
*Seducing the Single Lady by Maya Rodale (historical romance) -- Cute novella that is inspired by the works of Beyonce!
*A to Z by Marie Sexton (male/male romance) -- Continuing my re-read of Sexton's Coda series in anticipation of the release of Fear, Hope, and Bread Pudding in June.
*Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, Volume 4 by Naoko Takeuchi (manga fantasy) -- Loved the TV series in middle school and really enjoying the re-release of the manga!


WHAT I'M PLANNING ON READING NEXT...
A Woman Entangled (Blackshear Family, #3)  Spider's Bite (Elemental Assassin, #1)

*A Woman Entangled by Cecilia Grant (historical romance) -- Netgalley e-arc that is the conclusion of a trilogy.  I enjoyed the first two by this author.
*Spider's Bite by Jennifer Estep (urban fantasy) -- Love this author's YA series and am excited to see how she does with UF.

****************************************************************************



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine to highlight upcoming releases we're anxiously awaiting. 









Antigoddess (Goddess War, #1)
ANTIGODDESS
(GODDESS WAR #1)
by Kendare Blake

Expected Publication: September 10, 2013
Young Adult -- Paranormal/Fantasy

Old Gods never die…

Or so Athena thought. But then the feathers started sprouting beneath her skin, invading her lungs like a strange cancer, and Hermes showed up with a fever eating away his flesh. So much for living a quiet eternity in perpetual health.

Desperately seeking the cause of their slow, miserable deaths, Athena and Hermes travel the world, gathering allies and discovering enemies both new and old. Their search leads them to Cassandra—an ordinary girl who was once an extraordinary prophetess, protected and loved by a god.

These days, Cassandra doesn’t involve herself in the business of gods—in fact, she doesn’t even know they exist. But she could be the key in a war that is only just beginning.

Because Hera, the queen of the gods, has aligned herself with other of the ancient Olympians, who are killing off rivals in an attempt to prolong their own lives. But these anti-gods have become corrupted in their desperation to survive, horrific caricatures of their former glory. Athena will need every advantage she can get, because immortals don’t just flicker out.

Every one of them dies in their own way. Some choke on feathers. Others become monsters. All of them rage against their last breath.

The Goddess War is about to begin.
WHY I'M EXCITED: I haven't read Blake's previous works, but I've heard great things about Anna Dressed in Blood.  I am excited because I love books that deal with mythology and this seems like an original take on these classic stories.  Plus Cassandra and Athena are some of my favorite characters from Greek myth!