Tuesday, July 17, 2012

TOP TEN TUESDAY (29): Books for Fans of the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series



TOP TEN BOOKS/SERIES FOR FANS OF THE BLACK DAGGER BROTHERHOOD SERIES BY JR WARD

This was a hard topic for me because it required me to find a book (or series) that I enjoy and that I could find similar recommendations.  After much deliberartion, I decided to do JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood paranormal romance series.  The aspects of BDB that I used to find similar reads are well-written, often tortured characters (usually heroes), tons of action, overarching plotlines, well-done worldbuilding, and plenty of sexy romance.


 1. Dark Hunters series by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Ongoing)
A paranormal romance series deals with a group of warriors known as Dark-Hunters, vampire hunters who are given powers by the goddess Artemis in exchange for an act of revenge.  In addition to vampires (known as Daimons in this series), readers also encounter demons, shapeshifters, deities, and other creatures.  Each book includes an individual love story though there are many overlapping plots that appear throughout the series.  This is an extremely lengthy series (22 books and counting) with no end in sight.  The book count includes two side series (Were-Hunters and Dream-Hunters) which fall into the DH order.  There is also a YA spin-off series, Chronicles of Nick.


2. Demonica series by Larissa Ione (Complete)
This is a paranormal romance series that includes five books and two novellas.  It tells the stories of five demon siblings who share the same father, a special brand of incubus known as a Seminus demon.  Most of the series revolves around the setting of Underworld General Hospital, a hospital for demons.  Each book has a different romance, but the series storylines do overlap.  This specific series is complete, but Ione is currently writing a spin-off that focuses on the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.


3. Fever series by Karen Marie Moning (Complete)
An urban fantasy series that includes five books and tells the story of a young woman named Mac who discovers the hidden world of the fae after searching for the truth behind her sister's murder.  Romance isn't the main focus of this series, but there is a main couple to root for: Mac and the always delicious Jericho Z. Barrons.  There is a lot of mystery and creativity involved in this series.  Moning is now writing a spin-off series known as Fever World. 


4. Psy-Changeling series by Nalini Singh (Ongoing)
A complex and highly entertaining paranormal romance series that is currently on book eleven and counting.  It tells the story of an alternate future which includes three main species: Psy -- psychic beings, Changelings -- animals shifters, and Humans.  This is one of the most original series I've read and the worldbuilding is "blow your mind" amazing.  Each book includes its own love story, but I would not recommend reading this series out of order.  




5. Lords of the Underworld series by Gena Showalter (Ongoing)
A paranormal romance series that provides a wonderful twist on Greek mythology.  Showalter imagines what would have happened if Pandora's box wasn't opened by her, but by a group of jealous immortal warriors.  For punishment, these warriors were then forced to act as host for the demons they released.  The series deals with a variety of species like demons, angels, and harpies.  There are currently nine books with many more in the making.  There is also a spin-off series, Angels of the Dark, which just started this summer.

6. Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrian (Ongoing)
A paranormal romance series that tells the story of the Breed, a vampire race that originated from ancient aliens.  There are ten books in this series with number eleven due out in 2013.  There are different couples in each book and I believe that this is a series which could be read out of order though I think the enjoyment may lessen a bit.  I really like the interactions of the Breed warriors which remind me of the BDB.





7. Immortals After Dark series by Kresley Cole (Ongoing)
A paranormal romance series that consists of a massive supernatural world and many different species.  The couples in the books have run the gamut from vampires to valkyries to demons to weres to ghosts.  There are twelve books with number thirteen coming out in 2013.  It definitely needs to be read in order because the author likes to re-live certain events from different points of view.  She also excels at taking villains and turning them into protagonists though not always heroes and heroines.

8. Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost (Ongoing)
An urban fantasy series that deals with the adventures of my favorite paranormal couple: half-vampire Cat and her vampire bounty hunter boyfriend, Bones.  There are currently six books in the series with nine books planned by the author.  There are two spin-off series that provide the love stories of side characters, Night Huntress World and Night Prince.



9. Downside Ghosts series by Stacia Kane (Ongoing)
An intense urban fantasy series that is not afraid to delve into the darker aspects of paranormal life.  The heroine is a witch with a secret drug addiction who deals with some very nasty ghosts/spirits.  Everything about this series is unusual from the potential hero to the setting to the violent action.  There are currently five books in the series with, hopefully, many more in the future.


10. Feral Warriors series by Pamela Palmer (Ongoing)
This is a paranormal romance that doesn't always get the attention I believe it deserves.  Palmer provides a new twist on shapeshifter stories and gives it a violent twist.  The Feral Warriors are a core group of fighters with different personalities like BDB.  Each book tells a different love story, but there is a definitely an overarching plot that Palmer is telling.  There are currently six books and book seven will be released in late 2012.


Honorable Mentions: Shifters Unbound series by Jennifer Ashley, Darkyn series by Lynn Viehl

6 comments:

  1. Wow, I love your suggestions. I have read (and loved) The Dark Hunter series, The Midnight Breed series, The Demonica series, The Immortals After Dark and The Lords of the Underworld series. Great choices!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ooh...good choice, I loooove BDB and Lords of the Underworld! I actually tried Dark Hunter and Demonica and couldn't get into them though. :( Maybe I should give some of the others a shot?

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't read any of these but there are a few I'm going to put on my TBR list. And I've heard so much about BDB, I've got to give them a try!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Dang it, I still have not read the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, despite all the raving reviews I've seen! The Night Huntress and Immortals after Dark series are both on my TBR list though!

    Here’s my TTT

    ReplyDelete
  5. I agree with every one of your suggestions, it was the BDB that led me on to each and every one of the series you mentioned. My all time fav has got to be Nalini Singh's Psy Changeling series I love it to bits. Great top 10 post.

    ReplyDelete
  6. these are awesome! and I definitely agree on the majority of them, having read several myself! will be sure to check out the other series too!! thank you!

    ReplyDelete

Yeah comments!! Thanks for visiting my blog. I will try to reply to your comments as soon as possible.