Wednesday, August 31, 2011

MY BOOK BOYFRIEND (2) Bones



My Book Boyfriend is an awesome weekly meme hosted by Missie at The Unread Reader all about fictional boys who make us swoon.This week, I'm swooning over Bones from the Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost.  This series currently consists of five books: Halfway to the Grave, One Foot in the Grave, At Grave's End, Destined for an Early Grave, and This Side of the Grave with the sixth installment (One Grave at a Time) being released yesterday.

First Appearance: "Out of the light and obscured by shadows, I saw the top of a man's head bent forward.  His hair was nearly white under the intermittent lighting, but his skin was unlined.  Hollows and contours became features as he looked up and spotted me staring at him.  His brows were distinctly darker than his hair, which appeared to be light blond.  Those eyes were dark as well, too deep for me to guess a color.  His cheekbones could have been chiseled from marble, and that flawless diamonds-and-cream skin glamed from under his shirt collar." (Halfway to the Grave-Page 4)

About Bones:
  • Full Name: Crispin Phillip Arthur Russell III (His prostitute mother thought adding numbers gave the name a sense of dignity)
  • Age: 241 years old (first meeting)
  • Appearance: platinum blond hair (first meeting), honey brown hair (rest of the time), brown eyes, pale skin, angelic features
  • Occupation(s): former male prostitute, bounty hunter, master vampire
Why Bones Is My Master Vampire:
  • He's a 200-plus year old vampire who can fly and hypnotize humans.
  • He's a former gigolo who loves to use his considerable talents to satisfy his wife. (See the infamous Chapter 32 of One Foot in the Grave)
  • He used to be a vampire bounty hunter which is how he met his wife.
  • He fell in love with Cat early on and was not afraid to tell her about his feelings.
  • He's got a great sense of humor even in the darkest times.
  • He loves to change his hair color and disguise himself.
  • He's extremely protective of Cat, but always lets her fight when she needs to.
Swoon-worthy Quotes:

"If you run from me, I will chase you, and I'll find you...." (Halfway to the Grave-Page 202)


"I want your heart the most. Above all else. You're exactly right, I won't stop until I have it." (Halfway to the Grave-Page 274)
"Kitten, you need to make a decision. Either we stay here and behave or we leave now
and I promise you”—his voice dipped lower and the words fell against my lips—“if we
leave, I won’t behave." (Halfway to the Grave-Page 117)


"Don't care for her tongue, do you? How strange. I find it one of my favorite parts." (Destined for an Early Grave-Page 306)


"I love your hands,” he sighed. “You think I look like an angel? Well, Kitten, your hands are my heaven and your eyes are my home." (This Side of the Grave-Page 201)

My Bones:  Like many other readers, I found it very difficult to find someone to embody the luscious Bones.  The closest I found is the model Andy Richardson.  The rest of the pictures are the stepbacks from the Night Huntress novels.  I do not know who the cover model is for Bones, but he is yummy!  If anyone knows who this man is, I would be extremely appreciative!




Wednesday, August 24, 2011

MY BOOK BOYFRIEND (1) Maddox deValois



My Book Boyfriend is an awesome weekly meme hosted by Missie at The Unread Reader all about fictional boys who make us swoon.This week, I'm swooning over Maddox deValois from the first book in Devyn Quinn's Vampire Armageddon series, Darkness Descending.

First Appearance: "All at once, a man's figure materialized in its place, silhouetted in the shadows.  Tall and lean as whipcord, he was dressed in some sort of lengthy trench coat.  Untangling a long, slender object from the folds of his coat, he lifted his weapon and placed it against his shoulder.  The moonlight glinted off the cool gray metal of a sawed-off shotgun."  (Page 10)

About Maddox:
  • Full Name: Maddox deValois
  • Age: 270 years old
  • Appearance: brownish red curly hair, dark eyes, lean frame 
  • Occupation(s): Palindrome, vampire hunter
Why He's Awesome:
  • French accent
  • Doesn't mind walking naked around his house, even if he has a female guest
  • Complex history especially for a vampire hunter
  • Is determined to help Jesse despite the fact that she is infected by the very demons Maddox fights
  • Unwillingly heroic
Swoon-worthy Quotes:

"Rather than being horrified, Maddox found himself strangely spellbound by her narrative.  He wondered if he would have been so strong had their positions been reversed.  Could he have resisted the call of damnation?" (Page 56)

"I wasn't looking, " she mumbled.  Maddox stepped into his jeans, hitching them up around his hips.  "I don't mind if you were.  Its not as though any man is born with his ass covered." (Page 68)

"Lurking inside Jesse was the beast he craved.  At the moment he desired nothing more than to sacrifice himself to her.  Whatever she needed, whatever she wanted, he would offer it.  Willingly and without hesitation." (Page 177)

"I want you to know that I see you.  I know what you are.  And I'll help you figure it out every step of the way." (Page 186)

"As long as she's alive, I don't care what she is." (Page 353)

My Maddox: Actor James Franco who is well-known for roles in Spiderman, Pinepple Express, 127 Hours, and many more.

Sunday, August 21, 2011

REVIEW: "Darkness Descending" by Devyn Quinn


DESCRIPTION: For a year, Jesse Burke has been suppressing the beast within, driven by vengeance to destroy the vampiric fallen angels terrorizing New Orleans.  But a war of biblical proportions is too much for one girl to handle, and she must turn to slayer Maddox deValois for training, though doing so threatens her fiercely guarded independence.  At the same time, the sinister demon Queen Amonate is doing everything in her power to lure Jesse into embracing the darkness within.  Before this war is over, everyone will learn that hell hath no fury like a woman possessed. . .

PUBLICATION DATE: August 2, 2011
GENRE: Paranormal Romance-Urban Fantasy-Vampires-Angels
SETTING: Post-Hurricane Katrina New Orleans, Louisiana
SERIES: Vampire Armageddon #1
HERO: Maddox deValois
HEROINE: Jesse Burke
SENSUALITY RATING: Hot

OVERALL RANKING: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

Darkness Descending is my first book by Devyn Quinn and I was looking forward to starting a new paranormal series from the beginning.  All in all, I was extremely impressed by Ms. Quinn's writing style and worldbuilding and I will definitely be looking for the next in this series.

The Vampire Armageddon series is urban fantasy that takes place in an alternative post-Katrina New Orleans.  The basic premise of the series deals with disgraced angels who fed on human blood after falling and helped spawn a demonic race known as the Telave.  The Telave drink their victims blood and infect them with a demonic plague.  This plague kills the victims within a day or so of the bite and then the demon spirit takes over the corpse.  The Enlightened One (a female God) helps the human race by having her angels mate with humans.  These actions result in an all-male immortal, fighting race called Palindromes which are awakened by the bite of the Telave.

Our main protagonist is Jesse Burke who was attacked by the Telave a year earlier along with her sister.  Her sister died of the infection, but Jesse managed to maintain control of her body.  She is possessed by the demon, but has learned how to survive without it taking over.  She knows that it is only a matter of time until she can no longer control the demon so she is determined to kill as many of the Telave as she can before it takes over.  It is during an ill-fated attempt at killing a new Telave where Jesse meets Maddox deValois, a 200 year old Palindrome.  With the help of Maddox and his fellow Palindrome warriors, Jesse learns about the details of the Telave and the epic war that is approaching. 

Jesse is, at first glance, a typical paranormal heroine.  She has an unusual appearance (pale hair and web-like markings on her skill), some unfortunate baggage that has changed her outlook on life, and a need for assistance in learning how to deal with her new situation.  However, I thought the fact that Jesse is a ticking time bomb with her potential demon possession was an original idea.  This gave her a sense of desperation that is not very common in urban fantasy heroines, in my experience that is.  I connected with Jesse early on and I am anxious to find out more about her journey.  Plus I think she has definite potential to be pretty kick-ass especially with her ability to use a spiked heel as a deadly weapon!     

Maddox deValois, as I mentioned earlier, is a Palindrome who discovered his destiny shortly after being attacked by the Telave in the eighteenth century.  He was a French settler who was exploring North America which is shown in his sense of adventure and survival skills.  Maddox becomes interested in Jesse from their first meeting and, as he gets to know her, is determined to teach her how to deal with her demon and not give in.  He provides a much-needed security for Jesse at a time when she is completely adrift.  But, Maddox is not without his flaws.  He is an extremely complex character with some pretty perverse addictions.  Both Jesse and the reader discover quite a few of his complications, but he still mostly remains a mystery. 

I really liked both main characters especially when they were interacting with each other.  The sexual tension between Maddox and Jesse is evident early on and adds an interesting aspect to their seemingly-doomed relationship.  There was one (long) sex scene and the heat factor definitely increases from that point on.  Definitely not a letdown after all the tension. 

There were not a lot of secondary characters since this first installment concentrated on establishing the mythology and the relationship between Maddox and Jesse.  But, the ones that existed were intriguing and helped moved the story along.  Specifically, I loved the characters of Sam and Reyen.  These are the two Palindromes that are working with Maddox on eliminating the Telave in New Orleans.  Sam is an assuming-looking doctor who is a wizard at weaponry while Reyen is an irritable Native American who makes it clear that he does not care for anything, but killing the Telave and their minions. 

Because this is the beginning of the Vampire Armageddon series, there was a significant amount of worldbuilding.  I thought that Devyn Quinn did a decent job of providing background while not letting the plot suffer.  While there were some cases of information dumping, I never felt overwhelmed with the amount of mythology that was thrown at me.  The trope of fallen angels is pretty popular right now, but I thought the whole Telave and Palindrome idea was creative and realistic for this particular genre.  There were some unanswered questions that I think will help tie later installments in the series together as well.

In conclusion, I really enjoyed Darkness Descending and recommend it to anyone who likes original vampire/fallen angel series with a darker twist than most.  Devyn Quinn does not skimp on the horrific details like the fight scenes and the twisted flashbacks of the characters which I love in urban fantasy.  Be forewarned that there is a slight cliffhanger ending to this book.  But, I did not find it too frustrating.  I thought it was a successful way to finish the first installment and keep readers eager for more. 

FAVORITE QUOTE: “I want you to know that I see you.  I know what you are.  And I’ll help you figure it out every step of the way.”—Maddox (Page 186)

BOOK TRAILER:

Friday, August 19, 2011

REVIEW: "The Many Sins of Lord Cameron" by Jennifer Ashley


DESCRIPTION: Lord Cameron Mackenzie is intrigued when he finds the pretty widow, Ainsley Douglas, hiding in the window seat of his bedchamber. Cam remembers Ainsley Douglas all right—six years ago, he’d caught her in this very bedchamber, during a house party in the Mackenzies’ Scottish manor.  Later, Cameron learned that her visit to his bedchamber was part of some female intrigue against him, the kind his late wife used to practice. Ainsley protested her innocence, but Cameron’s anger made him never want to see her again. Now she’s back, at another houseparty—and Cameron finds the gray-eyed minx in his bedchamber, again. Her excuses are just as ingenuous, but this time Cameron is determined to teach her a lesson.

Ainsley’s dismay is real. She’s on a mission to prevent embarrassment to Queen Victoria, and time is running out. Though the needs he’d stirred long ago during her unhappy marriage rise again, she knows it would be foolish to fall for love-them-and-leave-them Cameron Mackenzie. But he asks her a question that challenges her beliefs about love and happiness, and she finds herself risking all to be with the black sheep of the Mackenzie family.


PUBLICATION DATE: August 2011
GENRE: Historical Romance
SETTING: Victorian England
SERIES: Highland Pleasures #3
HERO: Lord Cameron MacKenzie
HEROINE: Ainsley Douglas
SENSUALITY RATING: Hot

OVERALL RANKING: 4.25 out of 5 Stars

This is the third book in Jennifer Ashley's popular historical romance series about the MacKenzie family.  They are a wealthy Scottish noble family that is considered scandalous for many reasons yet still retains its authority and power within British society.  Previous books have dealt with the youngest MacKenzie brother (Ian) who had a reputation of insanity (The Madness of Lord Ian MacKenzie) and the middle brother (Mac) who was trying to rekindle his relationship with his estranged wife (Lady Isabella's Scandalous Marriage).  I really enjoyed the earlier books in this series with Ian's book being one of my favorite romances of all time.  I found The Many Sins of Lord Cameron to be slightly better than Mac's book, but still not reaching the level of Ian's story.  But, overall, this was an amazing book that I recommend to any historical romance fans!

We knew very little about Cameron, the second oldest brother, before now since all Ms. Ashley had told us was that he was a widower whose wife died mysteriously when his son was a baby.  I really loved getting to delve deeper into Cam's past.  I won't spoil any readers, but let me just say that the truth about his marriage is absolutely heartbreaking and makes you want to give him a huge hug.  And what was equally heartbreaking was the way that society treated him because of their ignorance about his marriage.

Ainsley Douglas, the heroine, is a realistic and fascinating woman.  She comes into the story with a definite past that has shaped who she is and her outlook on life.  It is established early on that Ainsley has lusted after Cameron ever since he discovered her sneaking around in his bedroom and she openly acknowledges this fact to the readers.  It was refreshing not to read about a heroine who moans about lust and morals for ages.  I also felt like she was the perfect match for Cameron with her practical and almost nurturing persona.

I've already mentioned that Ainsley and Cam lusted after each other since their first meeting.  One of the greatest journeys in romance is the growth from lust at first sight to genuine affection to love.  Ms. Ashley showcases this journey fantastically.  We are given points of view from both main characters which allows us to understand and marvel at their growing relationship.  It definitely never felt rushed or anticlimatic due to this attention to detail.  There were also many love scenes in this book and they were hot!  I mentioned in #10 that Ainsley is pretty open about her desire for Cam.  This allows for some great sexual banter between the two which is one of my favorite things about romance novels. 

Despite the overarching darkness of the plot, there was definitely a sense of irony and humor prevalent.  I thought this was clever on the part of the author because it provided a much-needed balance with all the angst.  Two of the funniest scenes in the entire book happen at the beginning.  One of them is a flashback of when Cam first caught Ainsley sneaking around in his bedroom.  And the second is when he discovers her (once again) hiding in his bedchamber.  The dialogue in both of these scenes is amazingly witty and full of sexual tension.

I really enjoyed the way that Ashley showed the other members of the MacKenzie family and their interactions.  All the brothers were visible though not the recently discovered illegitimate brother which kinda disappointed me.  I especially loved seeing more about Cameron's relationship with his son, Daniel.  The reader could tell early on that Cameron believed himself to be a failure as a father due to Daniel being raised by bachelors until Isabella came along.  But, Daniel proved to his father that, while he was not perfect, he was still successful in raising a decent gentleman whose story I cannot wait to read.

And speaking of books I want to read, I am super excited for the next installment in this series which will tell the story of Hart (the oldest MacKenzie brother) and his former fiancee Eleanor.  We got a small peek at their relationship in this book and a little background in other books.  Hart has always seemed to be a character that has complete control (despite some mysterious sexual interests) so I am anxious to see him try to win Eleanor over.


FAVORITE QUOTES: "Damn you, Ainsley, I love you so much I hurt with it.  I fell in love with you the night I first caught you in my bedchamber, my little thief.  I was so drunk, and you were so lovely, and I wanted you like I'd never wanted a woman before in my life.  How the hell did I live so long without you?"
--Cameron (pg. 294)

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

REVIEW: "The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton" by Miranda Neville


DESCRIPTION:
 Being kidnapped is teaching Miss Celia Seaton a few things about life:
Lesson one: Never disrobe in front of a gentleman . . . unless his request comes at gunpoint.
Lesson two: If, when lost on the moors, you encounter Tarquin Compton, the leader of London society who ruined your marriage prospects, deny any previous acquaintance.
Lesson three: If presented with an opportunity to get back at Mr. Compton, the bigger the lie, the better. A faux engagement should do nicely.
Lesson four: Not all knowledge is found between the covers of a book. But an improper book may further your education in ways you never guessed.
And while an erotic novel may be entertaining, the real thing is even better.

PUBLICATION DATE: July 2011
GENRE: Historical Romance
SETTING: Regency England
SERIES: The Burgundy Club #3
HERO: Tarquin Compton
HEROINE: Celia Seaton
SENSUALITY RATING: Hot

OVERALL RANKING: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

TEN THINGS I LIKED ABOUT "THE AMOROUS EDUCATION OF CELIA SEATON"

10.  The way Miranda Neville took an abundance of romance novel cliches and, somehow, managed to make a novel that is anything but stereotypical.  In this book alone, there is amnesia, kidnapping, faux engagements, house parties, makeovers, and even a mystery subplot.  I'm not sure how Ms. Neville managed to make this novel as wonderful as she did, but applause for her!

9.  One of the romance cliches that Ms. Neville uses in this book is the amnesia subplot.  I loved how she used that device to create a unique way to be introduced to our hero, Tarquin Compton.  While we spend a little time getting to know Tarquin before the amnesia, we received the bulk of the inner workings of his mind afterwards.  It was fun being inside his head while he was trying to deal with what Celia was telling him about himself.  I especially loved the way he responded to the name that she gave him!  

8.  Speaking of Celia, I really really liked her.  She found herself in quite a few desperate situations (before and during the book), but I never saw her get weepy or overwrought.  It always seemed like she was trying to do the best she could with what was going on in her life.  Celia was a supposed wallflower and plain jane, but she never let that stop her.  Also, she was never TSTL in any of the weird subplots she was placed in.  

7.  One of the interesting things I discovered while reading this book is how the author deals with Celia's makeover.  Celia does not currently have the means to dress well (due to the aforementioned kidnapping and robbery), but, thanks to new friends, undergoes a makeover to become more stylish.  At the same time that Celia is getting made over, readers see Tarquin undergo a different type of makeover.  He begins to seriously re-evaluate the life he has led and his place in society.  The way that these two "makeovers" happened almost simultaneously and as an effect of Tarquin and Celia's growing romance was a fun touch on the part of the author.

6.  This book was full of interesting relationships, but one of my favorites was between Tarquin and his Uncle Hugo.  This is the uncle who found Tarquin when he was an awkward teenager and taught him how to be the stylish dandy that he become.  But, their relationship goes beyond the mentor/student one that is hinted at the beginning.  Hugo wants Tarquin to be happy above all things and Tarquin wants to please his uncle more than anything.  This causes some intriguing backlash when Celia enters the picture.

5.  I am always fascinated by the research that authors do when writing a book.  Ms. Neville definitely showed off her knowledge in the Burgundy Club series.  The idea of book collecting is very appealing to readers so I think this was a good aspect to concentrate on.  It gave me a sense of commonality with the heroes in the series despite the historical period.

4. Speaking of collecting, the erotic book that Tarquin receives at the beginning and that Celia reads is one of the most entertaining aspects of the whole novel.  I loved reading the actual passages and then finding out about Celia's reactions.  I was especially pleased when I discovered that The Genuine and Remarkable Amours of the Celebrated Author Peter Aretin was a real book that Ms. Neville discovered while doing her research.  Needless to say, I am eager to get to the British Library and read this little book for myself.

3. I believe the secondary characters are among some of the most detailed and purposeful of any book I've read this year.  Many times I feel like an author is just piling on the characters in order to provide sequel fodder or as background noise.  Most of the characters here have a definite purpose, though readers may not always be privy to that purpose at the beginning. 

2.  My favorite secondary characters in this book are the members of the Montrose family.  We already met Diana and her husband, Sebastian, in The Dangerous Viscount, but I enjoyed seeing them again.  Sebastian is as socially awkward as ever, but he and Diana just work for some bizarre reason.  I especially loved any scene with Minerva Montrose.  This is a lady who is demanding a book, if I have ever seen one.

1.  In my opinion, the final proposal scene is one of the cutest I've ever read.  I don't want to give too much away, but the way that things seem to come full circle for Tarquin and Celia is just so sweet and romantic.  I know its a great proposal when I am silently cheering while reading it.

FAVORITE LINE: "My darling love, I think you have a fundamental misconception about what it means to be a great dandy.  I have better taste than anyone else so I don't care what anyone else thinks about anything.  I am right and they are wrong."--Tarquin Compton 

Monday, August 1, 2011

WISHLIST: August 2011 Releases

Title: "Retribution"
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Genre: Paranormal Romance-Contemporary
Series: Dark Hunters (#20)
Release Date: August 2nd
Description: A hired gunslinger, William Jessup Brady lived his life with one foot in the grave. He believed that every life had a price. Until the day when he finally found a reason to live. In one single act of brutal betrayal, he lost everything, including his life. Brought back by a Greek goddess to be one of her Dark-Hunters, he gave his immortal soul for vengeance and swore he’d spend eternity protecting the humans he’d once considered prey.  
Orphaned as a toddler, Abigail Yager was taken in by a family of vampires and raised on one belief—Dark-Hunters are the evil who prey on both their people and mankind, and they must all be destroyed. While protecting her adoptive race, she has spent her life eliminating the Dark-Hunters and training for the day when she meeting the man who killed her family: Jess Brady. Jess has been charged with finding and terminating the creature who’s assassinating Dark-Hunters. The last thing he expects to find is a human face behind the killings, but when that face bears a striking resemblance to the one who murdered him centuries ago, he knows something evil is going on. He also knows he’s not the one who killed her parents. But Abigail refuses to believe the truth and is determined to see him dead once and for all.
Brought together by an angry god and chased by ancient enemies out to kill them both, they must find a way to overcome their mutual hatred or watch as one of the darkest of powers rises and kills both the races they’ve sworn to protect.
Why I'm Interested: Love the Dark Hunters series and have been wanting Sundown's story ever since we met him in "Dance with the Devil."  Can't wait!!


Title: "The Many Sins of Lord Cameron"
Author: Jennifer Ashley
Genre: Historical Romance-Victorian England
Series: Highland Pleasures (#3)
Release Date: August 2nd
Description: A renowned rake, Cameron Mackenzie doesn't care if Ainsley Douglas has a virtuous excuse for sneaking around his bedchamber. He only cares that she's at his mercy. One kiss at a time, he plans to seduce her. But what starts out as a lusty diversion may break Cam's own rules.
Why I'm Interested: Managed to get this book early due to Borders clearance sales.  I am loving the stories about the Mackenzie brothers.  "The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie" is one my all-time favorite romances and I have always been interested in Cameron and Daniel.


Title: "Darkness Descending"
Author: Devyn Quinn
Genre: Paranormal Romance-Urban Fantasy-Vampires
Series: Vampires Armageddon (#1)
Release Date: August 2nd
Description: Fallen angels in the form of vampires are infecting humans one by one, creating an army fit for Armageddon. Jesse Burke, driven by vengeance to destroy the vampiric angels, has been protecting New Orleans from the onslaught, unaware that she has a much greater destiny awaiting her in the face of the oncoming apocalypse...
Why I'm Interested: I have a thing for fallen angels and vampires so this combination is right up my alley.  Plus I always like finding a new series at its debut.


Title: "Storm's Heart"
Author: Thea Harrison
Genre: Paranormal Romance-Magic
Series: Elder Races (#2)
Release Date: August 2nd
Description: During the rule of her murderous Dark Fae uncle, Thistle "Tricks" Periwinkle found sanctuary among the Wyr in New York. Her ethereal beauty and sparkling personality won the hearts of the public, but after her uncle's death, there are those who don't want to see her ascend the throne...
Able to wield thunder and lightning, Wyr sentinel Tiago Black Eagle has ruled the skies for centuries. His massive build and thunderous power make him one of the Wyr's best weapons. And he's the one sent to protect Tricks when she's almost assassinated in Chicago.
Soon, both Tiago and Tricks will fall prey to the stormy hunger that engulfs them- a passion that will shake the very foundation of all the worlds.
Why I'm Interested: Really enjoying Thea Harrison's Elder Races.  Trick was one of the most intriguing characters from "Dragon Bound" so I was excited to find out more about her.


Title: "Chain Reaction"
Author: Simone Elkeles
Genre: Young Adult-Romance-Contemporary
Series: Perfect Chemistry (#3)
Release Date: August 16th
Description: Luis Fuentes is a good boy who doesn't live with the angst that his big brothers, Alex and Carlos, have always lived with. Luis is smart, funny, and has big dreams of becoming an astronaut. But when he falls for the wrong girl, Luis enters a dark world he's never known, and just when he thinks he's got life all figured out, learns some disturbing news about his family that destroys his positive outlook on life. Will that Fuentes bad boy streak come out with a vengeance and lure Luis to live on the edge like his new girlfriend and his own father?
Why I'm Interested: Final installment of the trilogy that started with the amazing "Perfect Chemistry."  Luis was always interesting in his brothers' stories so I'm anxious to read about him.


Title: "Lord of the Vampires"
Author: Gena Showalter
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series: Royal House of Shadows (#1)
Release Date: August 23rd
Description: Once upon a time…the Blood Sorcerer vanquished the kingdom of Elden. To save their children, the queen scattered them to safety and the king filled them with a need for vengeance. Only a magical timepiece connects the four royal heirs…and time is running out.
Nicolai the Vampire is renowned for his virility, but in a cruel twist of fate “The Dark Seducer” has become a sex slave in the kingdom of Delfina—stripped of his precious timepiece and his memory. All that remains is a primal need for freedom, revenge—and the only woman who can help him.
When the wanton vampire summons Jane Parker, she is helpless to obey. She's drawn to his dark sexuality and into his magical realm. But for this human, all is not a fairy tale. For saving Nicolai could mean losing the only man she's ever craved...
Why I'm Interested: I love two of the four authors who are writing the Royal House of Shadows series so I am definitely intrigued.  Plus the book summary sounds so cool.


Title: "One Grave at a Time"
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Genre: Urban Fantasy-Vampires
Series: Night Huntress (#6)
Release Date: August 30th
Description: Having narrowly averted an (under)world war, Cat Crawfield wants nothing more than a little downtime with her vampire husband, Bones. Unfortunately, her gift from New Orleans' voodoo queen just keeps on giving--leading to a personal favor that sends them into battle once again, this time against a villainous spirit.
Centuries ago, Heinrich Kramer was a witch hunter. Now, every All Hallows Eve, he takes physical form to torture innocent women before burning them alive. This year, however, a determined Cat and Bones must risk all to send him back to the other side of eternity--forever. But how do you kill a killer who's already long dead
Why I'm Interested: Cat and Bones!  Cat and Bones!  Cat and Bones!  Reason enough to read the book right there.  One of my favorite paranormals and one of my favorite couples all-time!


Title: "A Night to Surrender"
Author: Tessa Dare
Genre: Historical Romance-Regency England
Series: Spindle Cove (#1)
Release Date: August 30th
Description:  Spindle Cove is the destination of choice for certain types of well-bred young ladies: the painfully shy, young wives disenchanted with matrimony, and young girls too enchanted with the wrong men; it is a haven for those who live there.
Victor Bramwell, the new Earl of Rycliff, knows he doesn’t belong here. So far as he can tell, there’s nothing in this place but spinsters . . . and sheep. But he has no choice, he has orders to gather a militia. It’s a simple mission, made complicated by the spirited, exquisite Susanna Finch—a woman who is determined to save her personal utopia from the invasion of Bram’s makeshift army.
Susanna has no use for aggravating men; Bram has sworn off interfering women. The scene is set for an epic battle…but who can be named the winner when both have so much to lose?
Why I'm Interested: Have enjoyed Dare's other trilogies so I'm definitely going to try these.


Title: "One Night in London"
Author: Caroline Linden
Genre: Historical Romance-Regency England
Series: n/a
Release Date: August 30th
Description: Neither wealth nor beauty will help Lady Francesca Gordon win custody of her young niece Georgina, saving the girl from a cruel stepmother; she needs London’s top solicitor for that. But when Edward de Lacey, son of the powerful Duke of Durham, hires away the one man who can do the job, Francesca decides Edward himself must champion her case . . . if only she can melt the dashing lord’s stony heart.
Edward has reason to be guarded, though. London’s tabloids have just exposed a secret that could ruin his entire family. When Francesca offers a unique chance to undo the damage, Edward is forced to agree to a partnership . . . and now, each moment together feeds the flames of his scandalous longing for the passionate widow. But when Georgina disappears, fate will test them both . . . and leave their love hanging in the balance.
Why I'm Interested: Just getting into Linden's writing so I'm anxious to read some of her newer work.