Saturday, March 28, 2015

STACKING THE SHELVES (72)

STSmall_thumb[2][2]
A great feature hosted by Tynga's Reviews where bloggers get to feature the new books they received over the past week.

~BOUGHT~
The Dangers of Dating a Rebound Vampire (Half-Moon Hollow, #3)
The Dangers of Dating a Rebound Vampire (Half-Moon Hollow #3) by Molly Harper
In the next book in Molly Harper’s beloved Half Moon Hollow paranormal romance series, Gigi starts her first job (at Vampire Headquarters), gets over her first love, and may even fall for her first vampire!

Gigi is no longer an innocent teen. All grown up and looking for love, her family and friends worry she’ll go for the sexy, alluring vampire instead of a nice, safe human. But sexy and alluring, with a penchant for biting, could be just what Gigi wants...

Moonlight On My Mind (Second Sons, #3)
Moonlight on My Mind (Second Sons #3) by Jennifer McQuiston
Eleven months ago, Julianne’s statement to the authorities wrongly implicated Patrick, the new Earl of Haversham, in his older brother’s death. The chit is as much trouble as her red hair suggests, and just as captivating. Now she has impetuously tracked him to the wilds of Scotland, insisting that he return home to face a murder charge and save his family from ruin. A clandestine wedding may be the only way to save her reputation—and his neck from the hangman’s noose.

Julianne has no objection to the match. More and more she’s convinced of Patrick’s innocence, though when it comes to igniting her passions, the man is all too guilty. And if they can only clear his name, a marriage made in haste could bring about the most extraordinary pleasure…

Her Highland Fling (Second Sons, #2.5)
Her Highland Fling (Second Sons #2.5) by Jennifer McQuiston
William MacKenzie has always been protective of his Scottish village. When Moraig's economy falters, he has the perfect solution to lure wealthy Londoners to this tiny hamlet: resurrect the ancient Highland Games! But for this to work, William knows he needs a reporter to showcase the town in just the right light.

A female journalist might be a tolerated oddity in Brighton, but newly minted reporter Penelope Tolbertson is discovering that finding respect in London is a far more difficult prospect. After receiving an invitation to cover Moraig's Highland Games, Penelope is determined to prove to her London editors just how valuable she can be.

Penelope instantly captures William's heart, but she is none too impressed with the gruff, broody Highlander; however, as she begins to understand his plans, Penelope discovers she may want more from him than just a story. She's only got a few days … but maybe a few days are all they need.

Lady Windermere's Lover (The Wild Quartet, #3)
Lady Windermere's Lover (Wild Quartet #3) by Miranda Neville
Damian, Earl of Windermere, rues the day he drunkenly gambled away his family's estate and was forced into marriage to reclaim it. Now, after hiding out from his new bride for a year, Damian is finally called home, only to discover that his modest bride has become an alluring beauty—and rumor has it that she's taken a lover. Damian vows to keep his wife from straying again, but to do so he must seduce her—and protect his heart from falling for the wife he never knew he wanted.

Lady Cynthia never aspired to be the subject of scandal. But with her husband off gallivanting across Persia, what was a lady to do? Flirting shamelessly with his former best friend seemed like the perfect revenge . . . except no matter how little Damian deserves her loyalty, Cynthia can't bring herself to be unfaithful. But now that the scoundrel has returned home, Cynthia isn't about to forgive his absence so easily—even if his presence stirs something in her she'd long thought dead and buried. He might win her heart . . . if he can earn her forgiveness!

***********
WEEKLY RECAP

I READ... 
The Courtesan Duchess by Joanna Shupe
Lights, Camera, Cupid by Riptide Publishing



Friday, March 27, 2015

2015 AUDIOBOOK READING CHALLENGE: January-March Update


Hosted by The Book Nympho or Hot Listens.

The goal is to find a new love for audios or to outdo yourself by listening to more audios in 2015 than you did in 2014.  Books must be in audio format (CD, MP3, etc.)  ANY genres count.

PERSONAL GOAL: BINGE LISTEN (20-30 AUDIOBOOKS)
I'm a little behind on my goals at this point.  I'm hoping to pick it up and listen to at least two books a month to catch up.

COMPLETED

Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1)
1. Magic Bites (Kate Daniels #1) by Ilona Andrews; Narrated by Renee Raudman (urban fantasy)

Creation in Death (In Death, #25)
2. Creation in Death (In Death #25) by JD Robb; Narrated by Susan Ericksen (romantic suspense)

Strangers in Death (In Death, #26)
3. Strangers in Death (In Death #26) by JD Robb; Narrated by Susan Ericksen (romantic suspense)

CURRENT LISTEN

The Dangers of Dating a Rebound Vampire (Half-Moon Hollow, #3)
The Dangers of Dating a Rebound Vampire (Half-Moon Hollow #3) by Molly Harper; Narrated by Amanda Ronconi (paranormal romance)

Thursday, March 26, 2015

THROWBACK THURSDAY-HISTORICAL ROMANCE EDITION (67)

Happy Thursday, everyone! This is a new feature hosted by Buried Under Romance and Love Saves the World.

What is Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition?
Traditionally, Throwback Thursday celebrates nostalgia, asking participants to post a personal photo or an image from their past -- usually from 5 to 10 years ago. There are a lot of book blogs that also do a book-related Throwback Thursday.  Since Tin and Mary C. are unapologetic lovers of historical romances, they've decided to focus on this beloved genre.

Here are the rules:
1. It must be posted on a Thursday.
2. It must be a historical romance novel published before October 2008.

THIS WEEK I AM FEATURING...

The Duke (Knight Miscellany, #1)
The Duke (Knights Miscellany #1) by Gaelen Foley
Originally published in 2000

Driven to uncover the truth about the mysterious death of his ladylove, the Duke of Hawkscliffe will go to any lengths to unmask a murderer. Even if it means jeopardizing his reputation by engaging in a scandalous affair with London's most provocative courtesan--the desirable but aloof Belinda Hamilton.

Bel has used her intelligence and wit to charm the city's titled gentlemen, while struggling to put the pieces of her life back together. She needs a protector, so she accepts Hawk's invitation to become his mistress in name only. He asks nothing of her body, but seeks her help in snaring the same man who shattered her virtue. Together they tempt the unforgiving wrath of society--until their risky charade turns into a dangerous attraction, and Bel must make a devastating decision that could ruin her last chance at love. . . .

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

REVIEW: "Lights, Camera, Cupid" by Riptide Publishing


Lights, Camera, Cupid (A Bluewater Bay Valentine's Day Anthology; Bluewater Bay #6)
Lights, Camera, Cupid by S.E. Jakes, Amy Lane, Anne Tenino, Z.A. Maxfield, and L.A. Witt
(Bluewater Bay #6)

Goodreads -- Amazon

For Ages 18+ (Language, Sensuality)
Male/Male Romance -- Contemporary

Riptide Publishing -- Published in February 2015
Ebook, 226 pages
Read in March 2015
Received from Netgalley

THEMES
Anthology, Small Town Setting

SUMMARY
Cupid is visiting Bluewater Bay, and he’s leaving chaos in his wake.

Nothing’s been the same in this sleepy little logging town since Hollywood came to shoot the hit TV show Wolf’s Landing—especially Valentine’s Day.


MY THOUGHTS
I received a free copy of this book from Riptide Publishing via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I have been thoroughly enjoying my journey through Bluewater Bay, Washington, a small town that was invaded by Hollywood as the shooting location for a popular paranormal detective series.  It has been tons of fun to see the mix of L.A. smarts and small town values.  So now Riptide Publishing has given fans and newbies a treat by showing what happens when Valentine's Day arrives in Bluewater Bay.

"Just Another Day" by L.A. Witt
This is a sequel novella to the first book in the series, Starstruck.  Levi and Carter are one of my favorite Bluewater Bay couples and it was great to see how their relationship has developed.  In this story, Levi, who is a known Valentine's Day hater, is forced to deal with Carter's own opinions on the holiday.  I loved the character development that is shown in just a few short pages and the mature way that these two guys handled their differences.  That ending made me smile with happiness and, of course, I adored the cameos from Levi's cats, Link and Zelda. (4 STARS)

"I'll Be There" by Z.A. Maxfield
Another sequel that focuses on a favorite Bluewater Bay couple.  This time the focus shifts to Spencer and Nash from Hell on Wheels. The basic premise of this story is that Spencer is at a convention in Illinois and is overcome with his anxiety issues.  Nash is trying every way he can to get to him, but a powerful snow storm is thwarting his efforts.  This tale allowed readers to see how far Spencer has gotten with his anxiety and also gives some insight into his lack of comfort around some of his fans.  Plus it was great to see Nash's twin brother and all his geeky friends pull out the stop to help him get to Illinois. (3.5 STARS)

"No Easy Way" by S.E. Jakes
This was the longest of the stories, mostly due to the fact that it involves a new couple.  Reunion stories are always one of my favorites so I fell hard for Cary and Dylan.  I liked the way that they felt each other out, but just couldn't resist the chemistry between them.  Also, it was fun to see S.E. Jakes's military style in a small town romance. (3.5 STARS)

"Helping Hand" by Anne Tenino
When I first read this story, I was a little disappointed because we didn't get a happy ending.  But, I have since learned that Lucas and Gabriel will be getting their own story next month.  Yeah!!  What I liked best about this "falling for your brother's best friend" tale was the relationship between Lucas and his family.  His desire to go to art school and come out as gay throws his father for a loop, but things got resolved much better than I anticipated.  We get a small taste of romance, but this story is mostly about Lucas.  (3 STARS)

"Nascha" by Amy Lane
A unique story about an elderly Native American man who reminisces about his past lovers while bemoaning his battle with Alzheimer's.  Stories with the elderly always make me tear up and this was no exception.  I liked the way that the author formatted the flashbacks and also let us into Nascha's life.  Plus it was exciting to learn that Nascha's grand-nephew would also be taking center stage soon.  (3 STARS)

BOOKS IN THE SERIES
1. Starstruck
2. There's Something About Ari
3. Hell on Wheels
4. Lone Wolf
5. The Burnt Toast B&B
6. Lights, Camera, Cupid
7. Wedding Favors (Coming April 2015)
8. The Deep of the Sound (Coming June 2015)

Tuesday, March 24, 2015