quotes Jennifer likes


"The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid."— Jane Austen

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

TOP TEN TUESDAY: Characters That Would Be Sitting At My Lunch table


Hosted by the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish.

~Ten Book Characters That Would Be Sitting At My Lunch Table~

Fangirl
1. Cath -- Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell -- Probably one of the book characters that I related to the most with her anti-social personality and obsession with writing fanfiction. (REVIEW)

Obsidian (Lux, #1)
2. Katy -- Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout -- She's a book blogger!  Of course, I would be hanging out with her. (REVIEW)

Neanderthal Seeks Human: A Smart Romance (Knitting in the City, #1)
3. Janie -- Neanderthal Meets Human by Penny Reid -- She's a geek who has a tendency to blurt out random trivia in social situations.  We would get along fabulously, I think.  (REVIEW)

The Princess Diaries (The Princess Diaries, #1)
4. Mia -- Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot -- There are things I don't have in common with Mia like the environmental obsession and the hipster vibe, but I like her and think we could be good friends.

Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs (Jane Jameson, #1)
5. Jane -- Jane Jameson series by Molly Harper -- A children's librarian who is obsessed with Jane Austen.  Thankfully, this imaginary situation would be before she is turned into a vampire. (REVIEW)

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)
6. Hermione -- Harry Potter series by JK Rowling -- This one is wishful thinking on my part because I think Hermione is so amazing.

Bloodlines (Bloodlines, #1)
7. Sydney -- Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead -- Another studious character who is uncomfortable in real-life situations...I'm starting to see a pattern here. :) (REVIEW)

An Abundance of Katherines
8. Colin -- An Abundance of Katherines by John Green -- Probably the lone guy at the table with his math obsession and bad luck with girls...especially ones named Katherine.

Matilda
9. Matilda -- Matilda by Roald Dahl -- We could talk incessantly about books and figure out ways to beat the Trunchbull.

You Don't Have to Say You Love Me
10. Neve Slater -- You Don't Have To Say You Love Me by Sarra Manning -- She loves books, movies, and history.  We are bound to be best friends. (REVIEW)

Monday, September 1, 2014

MONTHLY RECAP: August 2014

Here's a quick recap of the month of AUGUST on Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews:

REAL LIFE UPDATE
  • Work has finally picked back up with the return of students and their research questions.  While I do enjoy it when it gets quiet over the summer, it is nice to see life back on campus again.
  • I finished up my re-watch of Avatar: The Last Airbender and it was just as entertaining as the first time.
  • I am officially obsessed with the Outlander show and Jamie!  I'm always scared when a beloved book is adapted to film or television, but, thankfully, they nailed this one.
  • I've gone to see Guardians of the Galaxy two times this month.  It is probably one of my favorite Marvel movies ever.  I love everything about from Chris Pratt to the raccoon to dancing baby Groot at the end.
  • I started watching Chuck after seeing so many people recommend it to me.  I've only watched the first episode, but I'm already in love with Chuck and interested in seeing what happens to him and his friends at the NerdHerd.
  • The temperature and humidity has really picked up this month in Kentucky.  While I'm not ready for summer to be over, I wouldn't say no to a little relief.
  • College football started this weekend!  I am a huge University of Louisville fan and can't wait to see our team start the season tomorrow.  Yeah for tailgating and fun!
BOOKS I READ...
4.5 Stars
Survivor in Death (In Death #20) by JD Robb (romantic suspense)
Origin in Death (In Death #21) by JD Robb (romantic suspense)
Attachments by Rainbow Rowell (contemporary romance)

4 Stars
Talk Sweetly To Me (Brothers Sinister #4.5) by Courtney Milan (historical romance)
Rock Addiction (Rock Kiss #1) by Nalini Singh (contemporary romance)
Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss #3) by Stephanie Perkins (YA contemporary)
You Don't Have To Say You Love Me by Sarra Manning (contemporary romance)
Visions in Death (In Death #19) by JD Robb (romantic suspense)

3.5 Stars
Once More, My Darling Rogue (Scandalous Gentlemen of St. James #2) by Lorraine Heath (historical romance)
Looking for Trouble (Jackson: Girls Night Out #1) by Victoria Dahl (contemporary romance)

3 Stars
When the Rogue Returns (The Duke's Men #2) by Sabrina Jeffries (historical romance)
Dorinda and the Doctor (The Duke's Men #2.5) by Sabrina Jeffries (historical romance) 

FAVORITE BOOK OF THE MONTH...
Attachments

REVIEWS I PUBLISHED...
Netgalley Round-Up
Divided in Death (In Death #19) by JD Robb
The Suffragette Scandal (Brothers Sinister #4) by Courtney Milan
Looking for Trouble (Jackson: Girls Night Out #1) by Victoria Dahl
Visions in Death (In Death #20) by JD Robb
When the Rogue Returns (The Duke's Men #2) by Sabrina Jeffries
You Don't Have To Say You Love Me by Sarra Manning
Survivor in Death (In Death #21) by JD Robb
Once More, My Darling Rogue (Scandalous Gentlemen of St. James #1) by Lorraine Heath
Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anne and the French Kiss #3) by Stephanie Perkins
Talk Sweetly To Me (Brothers Sinister #4.5) by Courtney Milan

MEMES I PARTICIPATED IN...

Top Ten Tuesday
    Throwback Thursday-Historical Romance Edition
      Stacking the Shelves

      Sunday, August 31, 2014

      UPCOMING RELEASES: September 2014

      A list of new releases that grabbed my attention for next month.  These are organized by my personal interest level.  As always, release dates are subject to change.

      Chained by Night (MoonBound Clan Vampire, #2)
      Chained by Night (Moonbound Clan #2) by Larissa Ione -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date: September 30th
      Part of a highly original vampire series from one of the best paranormal authors I've ever read.  The hero is the leader of the Moonbound Clan who is facing a series of tests before marrying a member of a rival vampire clan.  I previously reviewed Bound by Night from this series.

      Snow Falling on Bluegrass (Bluegrass, #3)
      Snow Falling on Bluegrass (Bluegrass #3) by Molly Harper -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date: September 23rd
      Love this contemporary series set in my home state of Kentucky.  There are hints of a love triangle in the summary, but I trust Molly Harper.  I previously reviewed My Bluegrass Baby and Rhythm and Bluegrass from this series.

      Forged by Desire (London Steampunk, #4)
      Forged by Desire (London Steampunk #4) by Bec McMaster -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date: September 2nd
      McMaster's intriguing steampunk world is getting even more complicated as Nightwatch partners Garrett and Perry get their own story.  I have reviewed Kiss of Steel and Heart of Iron from this series.

      Broken (Redemption, #1)
      Broken (Redemption #1) by Lauren Layne -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date: September 2nd
      New adult featuring a socialite who moves to Maine in order to escape her past and ends up caring for a young war veteran.  I LOVED the prequel, Isn't She Lovely, and am intrigued by the redemption arc for Olivia.

      Fever Pitch (Love Lessons, #2)
      Fever Pitch (Love Lessons #2) by Heidi Cullinan -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date: September 30th
      Sequel to the wonderful Love Lessons.  Focuses on a geeky violin player and a former high school classmate who brings bad memories.

      Festive in Death (In Death, #39)
      Festive in Death (In Death #39) by JD Robb -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date:September 9th
      I'm still hopelessly behind on this series, but I will catch up eventually!  This installment involves the murder of a personal trainer who has a long list of enemies for Lieutenant Eve Dallas to wade through.

      What a Wallflower Wants (Bad Boys & Wallflowers, #3)
      What a Wallflower Wants (Bad Boys & Wallflowers #3) by Maya Rodale -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date: September 30th
      The conclusion of the Bad Boys and Wallflowers series.  The heroine has trust issues and the hero is determined to remain unwed, but, after getting stranded together, things get complicated.

      The Songbird's Seduction
      The Songbird's Seduction by Connie Brockway -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date: September 16th
      An Edwardian-set romance between an opera dancer and a strait-laced professor.  Brockway is an amazing historical author and I'm excited to see her writing once again.

      The Hook Up (Game On, #1)
      The Hook Up (Game On #1) by Kristen Callihan -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date: September 8th
      Callihan's new adult debut that is getting some serious buzz.  I'm intrigued by the premise of the star quarterback and the one girl who isn't impressed by his fame.

      Christmas Brides
      Christmas Brides by Various Authors -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date: September 30th
      I have this weird obsession for Christmas-themed historical romances so I will definitely hunt down this anthology of novellas from Suzanne Enoch, Alexandra Hawkins, Elizabeth Essex, and Valerie Bowman.

      Scandal And The Duchess (Highland Pleasures, #6.5)
      Scandal and the Duchess (Highland Pleasures #6.5) by Jennifer Ashley -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date: September 16th
      My interest with this series has waned for some reason, but I'm still willing to try this novella.  It features scandalous widow and a womanizing former soldier.

      Son of No One (Hellchasers, #6; Dark-Hunter, #23)
      Son of No One (Dark Hunters #23) by Sherrilyn Kenyon -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date: September 2nd
      The Dark-Hunterverse is another series that I'm conflicted about.  I haven't been impressed with some of the latest releases, but I still have to know what happens.

      Mending Him
      Mending Him by Summer Devon and Bonnie Dee -- Goodreads / Amazon
      Publication Date: September 9th
      I adore Devon and Dee's m/m historicals!  This particular story features a quiet country squire and the injured man he is forced to nurse back the health.

      Saturday, August 30, 2014

      STACKING THE SHELVES (47)

      STSmall_thumb[2][2]
      A great feature hosted by Tynga's Reviews where bloggers get to feature the new books they received over the past week.

       
      ~BOUGHT~
      Beyond Shame (Beyond, #1) The Curious Case Of The Clockwork Menace (London Steampunk, #3.5) Everything I Know About Love I Learned from Romance Novels
      Beyond Shame by Kit Rocha -- I've seen this series around some of my favorite blogs like Smexybooks and was excited to see it for free!

      The Curious Case of the Clockwork Menace by Bec McMaster -- Love this steampunk series so I had to pick up this free novella.

      Everything I Know About Love I Learned From Romance Novels by Sarah Wendell -- A nonfiction ode to romance novels from the webmistress of Smart Bitches, Trashy Books.

      ~RECEIVED FROM PAPERBACK SWAP~
      One Naughty Night (The Scandalous St. Claires, #1)
      One Naughty Night by Laurel McKee -- I haven't read this author yet, but thought I would give her a try.

      ~RECEIVED FOR REVIEW~
      Game (Jasper Dent #2)
      Game by Barry Lyga -- I got I Hunt Killers from Netgalley a few weeks ago and had to snap up the sequel as well.

      ***********
      WEEKLY RECAP

      I READ...
      Talk Sweetly To Me by Courtney Milan
      Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

      Friday, August 29, 2014

      REVIEW: "Talk Sweetly To Me" by Courtney Milan

      Talk Sweetly to Me (Brothers Sinister, #4.5)
      Talk Sweetly To Me by Courtney Milan
      (Brothers Sinister #4.5)

      Goodreads -- Amazon 
      Author Website

      For Ages 18+ (Language, Sensuality)
      Historical Romance -- Victorian England

      Courtney Milan -- Published on August 19, 2014
      Ebook, 109 pages
      Read in August 2014
      Received from Netgalley

      THEMES
      Novella, Brainy Heroine

      SUMMARY
      Nobody knows who Miss Rose Sweetly is, and she prefers it that way. She's a shy, mathematically-minded shopkeeper's daughter who dreams of the stars. Women like her only ever come to attention through scandal. She'll take obscurity, thank you very much.

      All of England knows who Stephen Shaughnessy is. He's an infamous advice columnist and a known rake. When he moves into the house next door to Rose, she discovers that he's also wickedly funny, devilishly flirtatious, and heart-stoppingly handsome. But when he takes an interest in her mathematical work, she realizes that Mr. Shaughnessy isn't just a scandal waiting to happen. He's waiting to happen to her...and if she's not careful, she'll give in to certain ruination.



      FIRST LINE
      "There was no way for Miss Rose Sweetly to set down her packages."

      MY THOUGHTS
      Talk Sweetly To Me is a novella that concludes the fascinating Brothers Sinister series by Courtney Milan.  This is a series that really stands out to me in terms of its character development, attention to historical detail, and, of course, sweet romance.  Things finish up in this world with the story of Rose Sweetly and Stephen Shaughnessy which is not my favorite of Milan's romances, but still stands out in this oft-saturated genre.

      Stephen is introduced to readers in The Suffragette Scandal as the son of Irish Catholics who works as a freelance writer for Frederica Marshall's newspaper.  He specializes in satire on political issues and rights debates of the day.  Stephen is also known to be a womanizer who doesn't seem capable of settling down.  Like all of the heroines in this series, Rose is a woman who feels out of place.  She is an English woman of African descent which automatically makes her a social outcast.  She also happens to be a mathematical genius who would rather spend her time computing complicated equations than shopping.

      Rose and Stephen meet each other before this novella even begins due to the fact that they are next door neighbors.  I absolutely loved their interactions and how they challenged one another.  I did think that the romance moved pretty quick due to the shorter page length. I  really wish that this had been a full-length story so that the development would have seemed a bit smoother.  But, it was still a sweet love story that forced both characters to take a chance on a life they never thought they would have.  Plus I got to learn a bit about tracking comets and the lost art of people as computers rather than machines.

      All in all, Talk Sweetly To Me is another unorthodox historical romance from an author who is definitely not afraid to take risks.  The writing is concise and the message is subtle yet powerful.  I look forward to seeing what Courtney Milan does next.

      I received a free copy of this book from Courtney Milan via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.


      4 STARS

      STEAM LEVEL
      Flush -- Detailed descriptions of lovemaking though nothing overly graphic.


      FAVORITE QUOTE
      "So why is it," she said, "that I have just now noticed that you've only ever come to me about me?  You've asked about my work, my thoughts, my wants.  You set this up for me, and when I balked, you handed me the keys and walked away.  If you wanted me to forget myself, you wouldn't keep reminding me who I am."

      BOOKS IN THE SERIES
      0.5. The Governess Affair
      1. The Duchess War
      1.5. Kiss of Midwinter
      2. The Heiress Effect
      3. The Countess Conspiracy
      4. The Suffragette Scandal
      4.5. Talk Sweetly To Me

      CHALLENGES READ FOR